Brillante Weblog Awards

November 5, 2008 at 11:34 am 3 comments

Last week, my high school classmate, Christina, but my blog in her list of Brillante Weblog Awards, so now it is my turn to pass it on. And I have lots and lots of blogs that I am fond of, that make me laugh, make me ponder and inspire me to write more. But today, I think I will highlight two blogs from strangers in Southwest Virginia.

A couple of years ago I watched a PBS documentary on Ansel Adams and they described how at first he was frustrated with his photographs. He didn’t think they fully captured the beauty of the outdoors. So he tried different techniques and worked with contrast filters until he was finally able to produce photographs that he felt depicted the enormity and the inspiration of places like Yosemite.

I share Ansel Adam’s early frustration with my own photographs. I think my shots always pale in comparison to the real life beauty that is out there in the Appalachian Mountains. I’m not busting on just myself– I think even the best photographs of say, McAfee’s Knob, fall far beneath the actual experience of the overlook.

BUT– these two guys have managed to develop their own techniques with their photos that I feel really highlight the beauty of Southwest Virginia. I find their work to be almost as powerful as the real thing. Almost. 🙂

So my two nominations for the Brillante Weblog Awards go to:

Visual Thoughts by D L Ennis


“The Fields, Forest and Mountains” by D L Ennis (This is Apple Orchard Mountain!)

Behind These Eyes by Sean Shannon


A shot of Pandapas Pond by Sean Shannon (He’s using HDR!)

Thank you to both of these photographers for doing such a great job at capturing why I love Southwest Virginia as dearly as I do!

P.S. If you want to pass on your own Brillante Weblog Awards, the rules are below:

1. The award may be displayed on a winners’ blog.

2. Add a link to the person from who you received the award.

3. Nominate up to 7 other blogs.

4. Add their links to your blog.

5. Send a message to each of those you awarded to tell them about the award.

Entry filed under: Apple Orchard Mountain, Pandapas Pond, Photography. Tags: .

Work Area 2008 Appalachian Trail from the Air

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lee  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    I work with Sean at Tele-Works, he takes great pride in his photography.

    Reply
  • 2. TGAW  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    @Lee – Holy crappoli. Well tell him a stranger likes his photography… and a stranger says “Congrats” to his new baby.

    And to you– I say– Congrats on your upcoming new baby!🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Christina G  |  November 7, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Nice photos. Capturing the beauty of nature is one of the most difficult things to do in photography, I think.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


