Kelly’s Knob Tree – Not Dead

October 24, 2008 at 8:00 am 7 comments

One of the trees I highlighted in the Cavity Filling post was a tree right at the top of Kelly’s Knob. That tree is so hollow and so riddled with holes that when I placed the “Kelly’s Knob Cache” geocache at the top, I strongly considered putting it in THAT tree.

Furthermore, most of the time I went up there, it was winter or early spring, before the leaves were out. I had just assumed the tree was dead. But August 2007 I was up there and lo and behold! That tree is very much alive.


How I usually see the tree – April 21, 2007


That tree has leaves! – August 18, 2007

More pictures of Kelly’s Knob from various visits are available on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Kelly's Knob, trees. Tags: .

links for 2008-10-23 links for 2008-10-27

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. D L Ennis  |  October 25, 2008 at 8:46 am

    Very much alive! Great shots my friend! Is that your hiking buddy in the top pic?

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  October 25, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    What kind of tree is that that fooled you?

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  October 26, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    @geekhiker – uhhh…. Hmmm… I’ll tell you next time I’m up there!🙂

    @D L Ennis – Thanks and yes, that is Jimmie. He is a greyhound mix. He’s eleven now, but would have been ten in that picture.

    Reply
  • 4. Ken Knott  |  February 7, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    Just hiked Kelly’s Knob… boy that was a bad idea… I haven’t hiked anything tough in years and years and I thought I was going to die…

    Anyway, I was wondering if you had any idea where I could find some information about that abandoned 2 story cabin/house in the middle of nowhere on that hike??? Spooky but fascinating to find in out there miles from any roads….

    Any ideas?

    Reply
  • 5. TGAW  |  February 7, 2009 at 9:32 pm

    @Ken – Hey! You know— I have passed a creepy abandoned cabin off of the Appalachian Trail. There were painted handprints inside– it was reminiscent of the Blair Witch Project. I can’t place exactly where I saw it, but if it was en route to Kelly’s Knob, it was on the Appalachian Trail *north* of Kelly’s Knob. (So you would want to start at VA-42 and hike southbound instead of hiking northbound from VA-601)

    Reply
  • 6. Ken Knott  |  February 7, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    That is exactly the one I mean… I’m really curious if there is some history on it. Do you know who I might ask?

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  February 8, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    @Ken – In the past when I wanted history on Keffer Oak, the Trail Supervisor of the Roanoke Appalachian Trail Club (RATC), Charles Parry, was able to hook me up. You should be able to find his contact information on the RATC website.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


