w00t!

October 11, 2008 at 4:41 pm 6 comments

After a long day hike, particularly the ones in the heart of July, that moment when the trees part just enough that you spy a sliver of your car is a celebrated one. You’ve finished! You’re done.

I had a moment earlier this week which was like that… but times 1000:


My house is for sale!

My Realtor hammered in the For Sale sign in my front yard!

And this marks the end of a very long journey for me. I’ve been working on getting this house ready for the market from at least July 2007. That’s fifteen months. The typical gestation period for a human baby is nine months. The average Appalachain Trail thru-hike is six months. So I could have thru-hiked AND had a baby in that time frame!

(i.e. That’s a looooong time.)


Sometimes I looked (and smelled) about as hygienic as a thru-hiker

And now it is done! And like the typical thru-hiker, I have a great support system of friends and family to thank. There are so many people who went to extremes to help me. I had people come over to paint and take down wallpaper. I had people who would drive six hours and then get up at 5:30 AM the very next morning to help me with… a yardsale. I had people who lent me equipment and advice. I had people who helped with glorious tasks like…taking things to the dump, pulling up the most disgusting outdoor carpet ever and pulling gunk out of a sink. I had people who would come over on worknights on short notice to help me move furniture. And even those these people are helping ME… some would still show up with food for ME. I should be feeding THEM, not the other way around!

Originally this post was going to be a huge list of all the items performed on this house and who helped with what. But I think it suffices to say that this house was a BIG team effort.

And so this “For Sale” sign, the Mount Katahdin of my 2007/2008, not only represents the end of a journey, but it also is a reminder of my loved ones. When I look at it- I’m happy, I’m proud, I’m relieved, I’m thankful and I’m choked up (a very good choked up) all at the same time.

THANK YOU EVERYONE! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!!

I LOVE YOU ALL!

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, home improvement. Tags: .

links for 2008-10-08 Week of New Tastes

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ronbailey  |  October 11, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Congrats! Good luck with the sale!

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  October 11, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    It’s good that this DID have nothing to do with gestating, because that would hurt.

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  October 11, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    (when the house comes out)

    Reply
  • 4. Week of New Tastes « TGAW  |  October 11, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    […] got to try some new tastes. But I got to do it from the comfort of my own home (which by the way is For Sale!!!), with ready access to Food Lion to supplement my diet AND unlike one of my friends, I would not […]

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  October 12, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Best of luck with the sale!

    Reply
  • 6. Aaron  |  October 13, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Best wishes on the sale!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


