Pulse

September 16, 2008 at 8:08 pm 20 comments

I donated blood today! The American Red Cross now has an extra pint of A- blood in their inventory, but more importantly, I now have license to eat whatever I want for the rest of the day.

Once they had the needle in me, they instructed me to squeeze a stress ball every 5-10 seconds with my right hand. The squeezing ensures my blood keeps flowing and making its way into the bag. So the whole time I talked to the nurse about defragging harddrives (she wanted to know if she should be logged on to her own Internet account or her husband’s Internet account to do this), I had a background process running:

One-Two-Three-Four-Five-*Squeeze*-One-Two-Three-Four-Five-*Squeeze*

I finished up, partook in guilt-free soda and Cheetos and headed home.

There I had to VPN into a client-site and remote into their server to archive about 26,000 PDFs. I commenced my Cut and Paste operation and as the hourglass struggled, I would flick my mouse every 5-10 seconds with my right hand. The flicking ensures my files keep flowing and making their way into the new directory (In the past I’ve had the frustrating discovery that when the server’s screen saver comes on, Windows Explorer crashes). So the whole time I stared at the screen (just about as captivating as the defrag conversation), I had a background process running:

One-Two-Three-Four-Five-*Flick*-One-Two-Three-Four-Five-*Flick*

And suddenly, I had a bit of déjà vu!

P.S. For a great blood donation story, be sure to read The Thrill of Losing a Pint of Blood.

Entry filed under: blood, Red Cross. Tags: .

More on Mountain Lake New Flickr Group!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Bloody screen savers, always causing trouble. I’ve started turning ’em off whenever I do anything major on a box these days!

    Reply
  • 2. Sour Swinger  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    There are free programs out there which can move the mouse for you. Creates a script that will continuously execute. Running that will keep the screen save from going off.

    I used it once to play on line game for. Would run it over night while I slept. Worked really well.

    Reply
  • 3. Sour Swinger  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Just reread what I typed a realized I left out a lot of letters and words. Oops.

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    @Geekhiker: Indeed, I totally agree! F ’em!

    @Sour Swinger, #3: I actually didn’t notice any errors in your sentence until I read the next comment. And I got what you meant exactly right the first time. Why’d you have go to ruin the illusion?😉

    Reply
  • 5. chriggy  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Agreed, screen savers suck! They cause nothing but trouble. And they really don’t serve a purpose anymore.

    @Sour Swinger, #2: Or, simpler solution, you could just turn off the screen saver.

    Reply
  • 6. Aaron  |  September 17, 2008 at 8:45 am

    I believe my new project is going to be to setup every PC in the entire family with a dynamic dns name so I can remotely access them any time to provide remote support. If I get one more EMail…

    Reply
  • 7. Dave  |  September 17, 2008 at 8:53 am

    I wish I had a hanging art installation, dedicated to randomly switching between awesome screensavers. That way it can be a dedicated art piece instead of a distraction at your main computer. Sort of like a those digital photo frames. Why not have digital screen saver frames?

    You know how they make and sell nostalgic video games completely contained in a retro joystick? Somebody should do that with the old After Dark screensavers (remember the flying toasters?) and a photo frame in the shape of a computer screen.

    Reply
  • 8. Sour Swinger  |  September 17, 2008 at 9:16 am

    @vicky
    You didn’t notice initially because you are a Sawyer and all Sawyer’s easily understand and comprehend Sawyer speech without realizing it.

    @chriggy
    But that’s not as cool as saying you created a mouse script to keep the screen saver from going off.

    Reply
  • 9. Clint  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:09 am

    If you just moved the folder at the command-line, you wouldn’t have to do that.

    Reply
  • 10. TGAW  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:27 am

    @ClintJCL – I was wondering how long it would be until a Command Line solution was presented.🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Clint  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:31 am

    If the “copy” command can really be considered a “solution”. Is dragging the files a “solution”?
    It’s the exact same thing, except it works. And if it fails, you get a meaningful error message, and know how far it went (info you don’t get when a GUI copy is aborted). You can also specify whether to overwrite files one at a time.
    Having to move the mouse is ridiculous.

    Reply
  • 12. Clint  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:32 am

    @Aaron, #6: Good luck getting past the router and forwarding those ports.

    Reply
  • 13. TGAW  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:50 am

    @Clint – Hey, I was not knocking the eventual command line “suggestion”– I was just pointing out that I anticipated its arrival. 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. Carolyn  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:53 am

    @Sour Swinger – It was Clint who didn’t notice the errors, and he’s not a Sawyer.

    Reply
  • 15. TGAW  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:56 am

    @Carolyn – Perhaps Clint has been around our family so long, he has become immune to our ways.

    Reply
  • 16. Clint  |  September 17, 2008 at 12:43 pm

    @TGAW #13:🙂
    @TGAW #15: I don’t get my ways from the Sawyers😛

    Reply
  • 17. Sour Swinger  |  September 17, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    @everyone
    What is happening with me? I completely mess up that comment. Then for some reason I read Clint’s comment as Vicky’s comment. This post is cursed!!!!

    Reply
  • 18. TGAW  |  September 17, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    @Sour Swinger – You are still cursed– I believe you wanted an “ed” at the end of your word “mess” 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. TGAW  |  September 17, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    @Sour Swinger – Also I wouldn’t feel too bad about your mishap. Today I accidently misdirected a text message to Twitter.

    Oh and a couple of weeks ago, I wrote about $2000 worth of checks from the wrong checkbook!

    Reply
  • 20. Sour Swinger  |  September 17, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    @TGAW
    Haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


