New Traffic Pattern

September 8, 2008 at 10:05 am 4 comments

I got stuck in traffic on I-66 Friday night. I know, groundbreaking news! I-66? Traffic? What’s up with that? Anyway as I waited I saw something that was new to me.


Me photographing something odd.

Do you see it? Here, how’s this:


Closer

Some guy decided he was too good to sit in the traffic. So he simply turned around and started to drive down the wrong way… on the grass median.

And he wasn’t the only one.

Apparently this was socially acceptable.

Entry filed under: traffic. Tags: .

The Garage, Angel’s Rest and Wanting to Cry Season Compare: Angel’s Rest

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  September 8, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    On the one hand, you have 1000s of people willing to sit in stopped traffic, unwilling to take matters in their own hand, sitting there, like sheep waiting to be slaughtered.

    On the other hand, you have someone who said, “I’m not dealing with this”, and did what he had to do to escape the situation.

    I think perhaps he might be better off on the other side of the median.. And I’m sure this is illegal… But immoral? I think refusing to be part of a flock of sheep is somewhat noble.

    I’ve been in i-395 where the ENTIRE road collectively revolted and went up an off ramp. That kicked ass, and was quite exhilerating ..until we got to the part where people were trying to exit the ramp. But they got the picture: Bad stuff is happening. You don’t want to go here! turn back! We probably saved those people from getting stick. (Actually, we — and I mean all of 395 — rode up the shoulders to get back onto Rt. 1). It was a BAD jam that day.

    Reply
  • 2. Carolyn  |  September 8, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    I once got pulled over and got a ticket from an unmarked police officer during rush hour on the beltway. Traffic had just let up, and I got pulled over, and was like “What the? I know I wasn’t speeding because I was sitting in traffic” Turned out, it was because my inspection was expired. Whoops.

    Anyway, a few minutes later, I saw mad traffic on the exit ramp for route 50, and there was a car doing a u-turn on the exit ramp and doing something really weird. On closer inspection, I saw that it was the same police officer (female) that had just given me a ticket. I thought it was weird.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  September 8, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    It’s good to see that LA driving habits have finally spread nationwide! đŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. gasstationdave  |  September 10, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    In some likelihood, this motorist approaching probably felt as serene as all get out, till they got closer and saw your prowess with the camera…much to their chagrin…đŸ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


