Hooray for Creative Commons!

August 29, 2008 at 2:06 pm 12 comments

My Creative Commons license on Flickr allows for people to reuse and modify my photos as long as they attribute the source back to me. Today my Google Alerts brought it to my attention that someone had done just that. And check it out!

They took a picture of clouds from an airplane:


How boring. Clouds from an airplane

And then made it into Steampunk Wallpaper:


Add some guys with funky mustaches and WOW!!!!!!

And on a side note– Steampunk Wallpaper?!?! How freaking cool of a concept is THAT?!?!

Entry filed under: Photography. Tags: .

One Great Real-Date Date Mountain Lake No More

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  August 29, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    damn cool!!!
    I just pic-commented that on all 3 of the original sources (the dudes, the rail, and your clouds)๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  August 29, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    and honestly, after checking out all 6 pages of those steampunk backgrounds … this one is the best one, too!!

    Reply
  • 3. TGAW  |  August 29, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Well, of course. This one had superior source materials! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Geis  |  August 29, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Magnificant! I am insanely jealous of these gentlemen. In their honor, I have made a posting to that effect at my blog “Century of the Beard” at http://centuryofthebeard.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 5. Stacy McMahon  |  August 29, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    I’m getting more and more interested in this whole steampunk thing. I really like the idea of combining old style and new tech…

    Reply
  • 6. SEO  |  August 31, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    That is pretty freakin’ awesome. Thanks for sharing the link to the site as well. Can’t wait to download one! (Gotta wait for my current desktop to get kind of stale though.)

    Marty

    Reply
  • 7. Clint  |  August 31, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Stacy, there are a few good steampunk anime movies…

    Reply
  • 8. ideonexus  |  September 1, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Wow! Score a point for having your CC photo used, and then score bonus points for having it appear in a steam punk photo!!! Sweet!!! I am so jealous!

    Stacy, “Steamboy” was a decent (however long) anime film that was somewhat recent, and “Laputa, Castle in the Sky” was an older semi-steampunk anime. I’ve never read it, but William Gibson’s “The Difference Engine” is supposed to be the best steampunk novel. Make and Boing Boing have all the cool steampunk style fashion and home decor coverage. : )

    Reply
  • 9. chriggy  |  September 2, 2008 at 10:53 am

    William Gibson is one of my my favorite authors. I got my picture taken with him a couple of years back at a book signing:

    William Gibson

    @ideonexus: I’ve got “The Difference Engine” sitting somewhere at home, in case you ever want to borrow it.

    Reply
  • 10. Angel  |  September 8, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    If I may be REALLY “meta” for a moment, I might have to “rasterbate” that image.๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  • 11. Hearts in Nature: Cacti « TGAW  |  September 23, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    […] 23, 2008 In another “Hooray for Creative Commons” moment, I get to present two more Hearts in Nature! The first one is from the Galapagos […]

    Reply
  • 12. Norman Rockwell Would LOVE Creative Commons « TGAW  |  December 22, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    […] to share and build upon the work of others.” We saw that in action last August with the Steampunk Wallpaper Mousewrites created. Like Rockwell, Mousewrites’ derived his work from multiple sources. In this case, three […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


