Vicky the Wedding Ringer

August 20, 2008 at 10:31 am 9 comments

I **LOVE** weddings! I really, really do. I enjoy watching the ceremony. I enjoy believing in happy endings. I enjoy witnessing all the touching moments throughout the day. I’m a huge fan of the Father Daughter Dance. And then there are my favorite parts– dancing and cake!

Because of my great affection for weddings, I make a great ringer. Don’t have a date? Ask me! I’ll go! I’ve gone to at least four weddings where I didn’t even know the bride *or* groom and still had a fantastic time. Hey, when you don’t know anyone you can be all the more liberated on the dance floor! 😉

This past weekend, my lovely sister tapped into my services and took me to her boss’s wedding. I’m happy to report that divorce does not dampen my appreciation for a good wedding. I had a splendid time!

One thing that was impressive and unique about this particular event was all the singing. Songs were performed by guests not only at the ceremony, but throughout the reception as well. It was a great showcase of local talent.

Oh… and there were THREE different cakes.

And broccoli salad!

Can’t get much better than that!🙂


My beautiful date, Carolyn, and I


A singer performs during the ceremony


Dancers perform at the wedding ceremony!


One of the many guests who sung for the bride and groom at the reception


THREE different types of cake!


The hood ornament on the bride and groom’s departure car.

More pictures of Felicia and Lawrence’s Wedding can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Carolyn L, Wedding. Tags: .

Shortest Hike Ever Mount Vernon

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Have you seen The Wedding Crashers? I think you might appreciate some of the motivations of the lead characters in that movie. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:38 am

    @Dave- I’ve seen the movie…. but I do think my motives are a little more innocent and G-rated than theirs!😉

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  August 20, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Not usually a fan of the big, fancy weddings, but this one does look pretty cool…

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  August 21, 2008 at 7:51 am

    I love a good wedding, too. I have to admit that I’ve never been to a wedding where I didn’t know the bride or groom, but I’ve been to several where I’ve ONLY know the bride or groom, and have had lots of fun.

    On an only slightly related note, I’m sorry to hear about your divorce. No doubt for the best in the long run, but I suspect pretty miserable right now.

    Reply
  • 5. Ryan Somma  |  August 21, 2008 at 11:14 am

    I’m digging that groovy Foxy-Brown hairstyle.

    Reply
  • 6. Anne  |  August 21, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    My daughter who is natural almost -blonde (which I always wanted to be) has groovy Foxy-Brown hair and my daughter with the natural groovy Foxy-Brown hair (though it does have lots of grey) is now bleached blonde. (she matches her mother)

    Reply
  • 7. Carolyn  |  August 21, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    I think he was referring to the guest who sang at the reception.

    Reply
  • 8. Ryan Somma  |  August 22, 2008 at 10:45 am

    True. But it’s still a cool observation about the Sawyer sisters. : )

    Reply
  • 9. Signal Knob and a Birthday Hike « TGAW  |  September 13, 2008 at 1:22 am

    […] my birthday falls on, that day I *will* be taking off work and going for a hike. It is a given. And just like with weddings, I will happily tag along on other people’s birthday hike as […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


