Shortest Hike Ever

August 14, 2008 at 12:08 am 5 comments

So it turns out getting a divorce could easily be a full time job. Putting a house on the market could be a full time job as well. Add that to a real full time job and you are one busy bee (or should I say yellow jacket?).

With all those items on my plate, hiking has been pretty far down on my list of things to do. So it’s been some time since I’ve been out and about. A couple of weekends ago, after an exhausting week and weekend of working on the house, I loaded up the dogs for a run to the dump. They were both so excited to be in the car and I had a somber thought. I used to take my dogs hiking. Now they get to go to the dump.

Honestly, I don’t think the dogs minded all that much. They were just happy for an adventure and the dump does have its fair share of smells. Still, when I descended Harding Road and saw those beautiful, beautiful green mountains, I decided action must be taken!

After I hurled old furniture and a disgusting, outdoor carpet out of my life, I took the dogs to nearby Falls Ridge. I still have to be careful of Henry’s leg, but the beginning of the Falls Ridge trail is a completely flat field. So I figured we would mosey across the field and back, all along monitoring Henry’s leg.

That was the plan.

But it wasn’t Henry who was our limitation. It was me! I got out of the car, walked no more than 50 paces and suddenly laying down sounded awfully good. So I did. I laid on the grass and rested while the dogs sniffed things and enjoyed the fresh air. And then I got up, returned to my car…and went back to work.

It was my shortest hike ever, if you can even apply to word “hike” to this context. But even those few moments were refreshing. And guess what! You can still take pictures when you are laying down. 🙂


Henry, my foot and the XTerra. That’s how far I made it from my car!


I didn’t even make it across this flat field!


It is not often that I photograph Henry from below

Entry filed under: Falls Ridge, Hiking. Tags: .

Dairy Footwear Vicky the Wedding Ringer

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sour Swinger  |  August 14, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Divorce can be draining. Hopefully the dogs didn’t mind such a short hike.

    Reply
  • 2. Carolyn  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:15 am

    I remember when Dad would take us kids to the dump. We thought it was the most awesome thing in the world!

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Carolyn, your comment is MUCH funnier if you remove the “the”.

    Reply
  • 4. geekhiker  |  August 14, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I love dogs: it’s not about the trip, its all about the smells along the way! So what if it was only a short hike? You were out there, and that’s the point.

    I still think you should add the “hike stats” box, though…😉

    Reply
  • 5. Happy Birthday, Jimmie Dog « TGAW  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:03 am

    […] Falls Ridge […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


