Christmas Card Patterns

July 17, 2008 at 10:12 am 7 comments

I love Christmas Card Season. I love writing Christmas cards and I love receiving them as well. So…. it turns out I had quite a collection of Christmas cards to sort through with my move. On a year to year basis, you receive the card, you enjoy it and you move on. But when you are presented with roughly nine years of cards, suddenly patterns emerge. Here are a few trends I noted:

Stacy always sends a funny card.

Tony Airaghi always thanks me for my friendship.

Kim Kalten (my old boss’s wife) consistently misspells my name (not a big deal– I don’t mind when people misspell my name).


Whoops, I didn’t realize Kim always misspells my names until I saw cards from multiple years.

June Randolph always tells me how much she misses my grandmother (I miss my grandmother too).

I get a lot of love from my friends’ parents. Brian V’s parents, Brian N’s parents and Stacy‘s parents all write wonderfully detailed messages.

A lot of people reuse the same cards from year to year including my grandmother, the Phelps, Virtual IT.

Roanoke-based companies really like that Christmas card that features the Roanoke Star. I had roughly eight of those.

Dave and Monica always include a “Go Hokies!” somewhere in their card.

AE’s mother likes to underline the message in the card for emphasis.


Three years in a row — underlining the message

It was an interesting exercise. And great timing! After a five year hiatus, the St. Jude’s Ranch of Children started accepting recycled card fronts again this summer. So my Christmas cards, or rather the fronts of those cards, have a destination!

Entry filed under: Christmas Card, Stacy McMahon, Tony Airaghi. Tags: .

The Great Craft Explosion Bye Bye Sectional

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  July 17, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    LOL – now I’m jealous. I don’t get many cards… but every year I can count on one from my Aunt and Uncle, with an accompanying letter about how well and successful their kids and grandkids are. *sigh*

    Reply
  • 2. Lee  |  July 18, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    How interesting! I come from a family in which my Sister always sends funny cards…and my parents always underline everything (even the stuff that’s already underlined by the publisher!).

    Reply
  • 3. Vicky  |  July 18, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    @Lee – Haha weird. I wonder how commonplace that underlining practice is.

    Reply
  • 4. Angel  |  July 18, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    I think that little tidbit about AE’s mom is the cutest thing ever!

    I have a hard time parting with cards and stuff, too. I actually have a couple shoeboxes and such filled with notes my friends and I passed to each other in high school. I also have some holiday cards in with those.

    Reply
  • 5. TheOne  |  August 20, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Many time I tried myself into making greeting cards in every occasion but I failed because I felt that my design are not too good enough. But I will keep on trying until I success. On my father’s birthday, I was gonna send him personalised greeting cards but I run out of time before I even finish one. How I wish I will the mojo to make this project works but it seems I am more into watching my shows these days. I felt lazy. Anyway, two of my nephews are about to celebrate their birthdays and I am planning to send them presents and greeting cards.

    I know a website that has this personalised greeting cards service world wide and all I need to pay is the postage only. It is really easy and less hassle and I could use it anytime I want to send greeting cards to anyone I love anywhere around the world.

    I am so glad that greetingcardscafe.com offers this kind of service. So, now we don’t need to waste our time making our own one and spend few quid to buy the stuff we need. Now, there is http://www.greetingcardscafe.com who can do it for us quicker and hassle free.

    Reply
  • 6. Anna  |  October 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I love the Christmas cards at this site:

    http://www.SeriouslyFunnyCards.com

    Reply
  • 7. Bookmarks about Christmas  |  October 22, 2008 at 3:45 am

    […] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by graphicdefine on 2008-10-01 Christmas Card Patterns https://tgaw.wordpress.com/2008/07/17/christmas-card-patterns/ – bookmarked by 3 members originally […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


