Pig Pickin’ 2008

June 30, 2008 at 11:58 pm 2 comments

Saturday, was Kathleen and Charlie’s annual Pig Pickin’ in Craig County, Virginia. I’ve attended this event a few times over the years– the first being 1998…ten years ago! Time flies!

A lot of my immediate friends who were with me in 1998 have moved away to different locales. For example, Ryan S moved to Maryland. Brian and Jodi are in North Carolina. But looking at the 1998 pictures, I see do someone who made both 1998 and 2008.


Tony Airaghi at 1998 Pig Pickin’


Tony Airaghi at 2008 Pig Pickin’

This event has always been dog friendly, but this year was the very first time I contributed to the pack. Jimmie accompanied me! I was pleased with his attendence. With a few infractions involving interest in the garbage or some of the dead opossums (a staple), he was well behaved. Poor Henry’s back foot is still weak, so I felt it was best to keep him away from all the other dogs and excitement.


Jimmie (on left) playing with some other dogs


Most of the time, Jimmie just chilled around me (those are my feet)

Last year, I got a lot of photos of the pig chopping process. This year, I went ahead and took a short video:

The food has consistently stayed delicious for a decade now and the party is always a fun time. I’ll part with a few more pictures:


Cledus


Mavis Yawns


I thought Charlie looked especially manly holding his Kahlua White Russian


A brief rainstorm (it did not stop the party)


Roasting marshmallows

Plenty of more pictures from the Pig Pickin’ 2008 are up on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Food, Jimmie, Kathleen, Tony Airaghi. Tags: .

links for 2008-06-30 Virginia AT License Plate – Only 37 More to Go!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Passionphish  |  July 1, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    So I’m guessing a “Pig Pickin’ ” is a good ole Pork BBQ? You grab dinner, cut it, cook, and eat it? Or is there something else I am oblivious too? I am from Georgia ya know… I could miss sumpin’… heheheheheheh

    Pp

    Reply
  • 2. AA  |  July 7, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Thanks for the clarification. I thought those might have been jimmie’s painted nails.đŸ˜›

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


