Rowing Lake Ridge Park

June 27, 2008 at 3:17 pm 4 comments

Memorial Day Weekend (I know over a month ago!) I went up to my parents’ house. Saturday night, I stayed up until the wee wee wee hours of the morning chatting with my father and my brother. I finally went to bed near dawn and a measly two hours later, I got a call on my cell phone. It was Kipp.

“Hey Vicky, do you want to go to Mass with me this morning?” he asked.

“No.” I said.

I was too tired to even think about feeling guilty about choosing sleep over God and the karmic repercussions of such a decision (That last sentence has an impressive mixture of Catholic guilt, superstition and Hinduism all jumbled together in one).

When I did get up that afternoon, I decided to celebrate this great Earth and all my blessings in a manner which is more meaningful to me. I decided to do something outside. I often say, “Mountains are my favorite Mass.” In Occoquan, Virginia, there are no mountains. But there is something comparable– renting a rowboat at Lake Ridge Park.

I’m not sure what about rowing appeals to me so much. It is the rhythm you get into with the oars? Is the beauty of all the landscape? Is it seeing wildlife like herons and baby geese? Or maybe, just maybe, there is something to the Aquatic Ape Theory after all.


Scenery at Lake Ridge Park


Other rowers at Lake Ridge Park


Aww… A family of geese


A taste of home – Blooming Mountain Laurel lined the shoreline


You best appreciate this heron picture. Do you know how many pictures I had to take of those bloody things to even get this blurry shot?!?!

Whatever it is, rowing is very cathartic to me. It cleanses my mind. It gives me clarity and it makes me just so thrilled to be alive. And do you know the one thing that makes such an experience even better?

Sharing it with a great friend!


Jimmie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Jimmie watching canoers!


Aww…. The wittle puppy is worn out.

More pictures of the Lake Ridge Park outing are available on my Flickr site.

Lake Ridge Park Marina
12350 Cotton Mill Drive
Woodbridge, VA 22192
(703) 494-5288
Website

Rentals

Rowboats
$14/day
$10/2 hrs

Canoes
$32/day
$16/3 hrs
$12/2 hrs
$8/1 hr

Paddle Boats

$8/1 hr
$5/half hr

Entry filed under: Jimmie. Tags: .

links for 2008-06-26 Meeting Oranjello

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  June 27, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Vic, dear, I gotta say it again, you are way too hard on yourself about the quality of your pics. That’s a damn good shot of the heron, and the others are good too.😛 And as for me, I’m glad I got to see you that weekend! Hehe.

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  June 29, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Heh – I still haven’t gotten a successful heron shot, after all these years. *jealous*

    Great pictures, as always. Wish there were more lakes around here!

    Reply
  • 3. Martha  |  April 13, 2009 at 8:46 am

    I like your pics. I am producing a marina brochure for Lake Ridge Park. Can the park use your images either on line and/or in print.

    Martha

    Reply
  • 4. Happy Birthday, Jimmie Dog « TGAW  |  April 15, 2009 at 8:03 am

    […] Rowing at Lake Ridge […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


