Fern Frond Friday

May 16, 2008 at 8:00 am 6 comments

With all our talk about fern fronds unrolling, I always thought about the process in just two-dimensions.


Unrolling one way…. (Photo by CarolynCASL)

I forgot they have to unroll the other way too:


Oh yeah! It has to unroll the OTHER way too! Duh.

I don’t know if there is a fancy schamy name for that like fiddleheads. If not, I suggest gonjong after the hornlike roofs of ramah gadang (traditional homes found in Indonesia)


Rumah Gadang (Photo by gosilat!)

This type of architecture is a bit younger than ferns– just a couple hundred million years. The roofs were inspired by the horns of water buffalo, which are slightly less younger.


River Water Buffalo (Photo by ucumari)

Entry filed under: Fern, Ramah Gadang. Tags: .

Five Things in my Yard [that Belonged to my Grandmother] Rocky Gap

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  May 16, 2008 at 10:22 am

    I would hvae thought that house to be Japanese or something…

    Reply
  • 2. Ryan Somma  |  May 17, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Sweet. More nature in architecture. Awesome.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  May 18, 2008 at 12:09 am

    All you need now is some ferns around the house…

    Reply
  • 4. Aaron  |  May 19, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Catchy title.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  May 22, 2008 at 12:26 am

    @geekhiker– I used to have a fern about 10 years ago when I lived in an apartment complex. Then one Saturday night, some drunk person stole it off my patio. I never got around to replacing it.

    Reply
  • 6. geekhiker  |  May 23, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    That stinks! I actually have a little California Maidenhair at home (like the one in the picture from the Santa Ynez hike). I should send you a picture so you can add it to your collection…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


