Five Things in my Yard [that Belonged to my Grandmother]

May 15, 2008 at 10:09 pm 6 comments

Here are five more things from my yard. This time, I’m highlighting items that belonged to my maternal grandmother. She passed away more than eight years ago, but thanks to souvenirs scattered in and out of my house, her memory remains strong.

Iris

A couple years ago, my mother dug up some irises from my grandmother’s yard. I drove them 250 miles south and planted them in my yard. This year, they bloomed for the first time in their new home!

Garden Gnome

This guy is well traveled. Originally from my grandmother’s yard in Occoquan, Virginia, my brother gave it to my Great Uncle Chuck in northwest Pennsylvania. One year I was visiting Great Uncle Chuck and he gave it to me. It now resides in Blacksburg, Virginia in my front yard near daffodils, crocuses and hyacinths.

Flower Pot

This flower pot used to be in my grandmother’s front yard. Now it is on my front stoop. Whenever I cut up vegetables (like Brussel Sprouts), I put the clippings and scraps in the pot. I typically cover up the debris with dried leafs and pine needles. Every now and then when it rains I throw a worm in there. There is no evidence that this “mini compost pile” is actually doing anything. I’m probably sentencing those poor earth worms to death.

Tatertot Casserole

Heh. Well I’m cheating on this one. Here are all the ingredients of my grandmother’s Tatertot Casserole. She used to make it for dinner and I follow suit. In fact, it was my supper tonight!

Henry

Last but far from least– Henry! My grandmother got him the summer of 1999. He was still a puppy when she had to be hospitalized. Sean and I took him in and when my grandmother passed away, he became an official member of our household. Henry may have his faults, but he also has a permanent place in my heart.

Entry filed under: Grandma Turnock, Henry, Iris. Tags: .

How to Make Vicky’s Day 101 Fern Frond Friday

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  May 16, 2008 at 12:18 am

    @Carolyn:
    You gotta get on that Tatertot Casserole!

    Reply
  • 2. Carolyn  |  May 16, 2008 at 7:36 am

    you are correct, sir… I’ve never attempted to make it, but from what I understand, it’s easy to make.

    Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  May 17, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Is that garden gnome real stone? If so, he might be the one I brought my father when I went to England. I am embarassed to tell you what year that was, but 1968. My parents always kept it inside on a shelf. Maybe it is a different gnome.

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  May 17, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    @Anne – It IS stone. I didn’t know its history.

    Uh…. perhaps I should, like, bring it back inside.

    Reply
  • 5. Aaron  |  May 19, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Still haven’t done the 10 things with pics yet, but it’s still in mind!

    Reply
  • 6. Katie  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    I love the gnome! He’s got character.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


