Wisteria Wednesday

May 14, 2008 at 8:00 am 4 comments

I wish I was cool enough for a weekly post with an impressive, alliterative title like Wildlife Wednesday or Wordless Wednesday. But, I do have just enough content to eek out a one-time post on…. wisteria!


Wisteria is relatively new to me! I first learned about it last year when I posted this photo from the Biltmore on Flickr and called it “Cool Tree”.

Some smart aleck was quick to correct me, “That’s a vine, not a tree.”


Not a cool tree. A cool vine.

Wisteria came back into my consciousness months later when I was eating on the terrace of the Larkspur Restaurant in Wichita, Kansas. One of my co-workers spotted it growing and marveled at the maturity of the vine. Upon inquiry, our waitress was able to deliver a quick history of that particular feature of the restaurant just as easily as she could recite the daily specials or the salad dressing options. So I suspect she was asked about it once or twice before. πŸ™‚

This spring was the first time I got to consciously see wisteria bloom! A few weeks ago, I was at the Virginia Tech Horticulture Gardens and got to see the purple flowers in all their glory.


Wisteria at the Virginia Tech Horticulture Gardens


Wisteria blooms at the Virginia Tech Horticulture Gardens

I *thought* that was impressive, but then the latest edition of the Festival of Trees linked to a blog post by Liza Lee Miller:

http://egretsnest.wordpress.com/2008/04/16/wordless-wednesday-unexpected/

It’s a picture of a 200 foot redwood tree, covered in wisteria. As a result, it looks like the redwood tree is blooming purple!

And from big to small. If a wisteria-covered redwood tree is too daunting for you, you can purchase Japanese wisteria in shrunken bonsai form. πŸ™‚

Phew. Glad I only have to do this once.

Entry filed under: Wisteria. Tags: .

links for 2008-05-13 links for 2008-05-14

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liza Lee Miller  |  May 14, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Loved your Wisteria-themed post. Thanks for including my purple redwood tree in it. Have a great day.

    Reply
  • 2. Christina G  |  May 14, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    I love wisteria. Our neighbors vine is in full bloom right now, and if the wind blows just right, our apartment is filled with their wonderful scent.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  May 14, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    I know the tree doesn’t mind, but when I first opened the link my first thought was “that poor smothered redwood!”. LOL

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  May 14, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    @Liza – Ha. The whole post was really a round about way to link to *your* post.

    @Christina G – Ooooh. Now that I think about it, I don’t think I paid much note to the smells in the Horticulture Gardens. I wonder if it is too late to go back.

    @GeekHiker – Are we sure the tree doesn’t mind? The other week I was looking at some black locust trees covered in Virginia Creeper and the locusts sort of looked like….maybe … they didn’t enjoy the company. Hmm… must learn more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


