links for 2008-05-14

May 14, 2008 at 5:37 pm 12 comments

  • Alex Metcalf has placed specially designed sensors in trees and linked it to headphones, so passersby can listen to the trees drinking water. I like the thrilled look on this child’s face. (Hat Tip, Sean)
    (tags: trees)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Wisteria Wednesday How to Make Vicky’s Day 101

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chriggy  |  May 14, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    Too bad the site doesn’t have the actual sound of trees drinking water😦

    I’d be curious to know what it sounds like.

    Reply
  • 2. TGAW  |  May 14, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    According to this blog (http://oddstrument.com/2008/05/14/tree-listeners-hear-trees-drinking/), when asked about MP3s, the creator said:

    “…I am sorry, I am not able to let you have an MP3. The sound doesn’t work unless you are under the tree. It takes away the experience.”

    Reply
  • 3. TGAW  |  May 14, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Aww crap, the non-clickable link police (aka Clint) is going to point out how I made the link unclickabout by putting it in between parentheses. Here is another copy:

    http://oddstrument.com/2008/05/14/tree-listeners-hear-trees-drinking/

    Now with clickability!

    Reply
  • 4. TGAW  |  May 14, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Aww crap. Now if there are any spelling police out there, they will point out that I invented a word in that last comment:

    “unclickabout”

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  May 14, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    I want one!

    Reply
  • 6. Clint  |  May 15, 2008 at 12:19 am

    Aww crap. Now if there are any redundancy police out there, they will summon the redundancy police.

    Reply
  • 7. Ryan Somma  |  May 17, 2008 at 11:01 am

    I actually like that he doesn’t have any MP3s of the sound, so you have to go sit under and actual tree to experience it.

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  May 17, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Except that nobody will ever be able to do that, so it’s just a snobby, stupid, closed thing to do. DRM on reality?

    Reply
  • 9. chriggy  |  May 17, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    @Ryan:
    I would agree with you if everybody had one of these trees within a reasonable driving distance. But most people aren’t going to travel hundreds or perhaps thousands of miles to listen to a tree.

    Reply
  • 10. TGAW  |  May 17, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    I think that there may be added value at hearing the sounds while you are right next to the tree. However, I don’t think hearing the MP3s ahead of time is going to dampen the experience for those who do make it out to the trees at a later date.

    The example I can think of is air raid sounds from WWII. Since I frequent the History Channel, that sound is far from new to me. But in 1999, I went to London and I visited Churchill’s secret underground bunker. They gave us headphones to accompany the tour. To set the mood for the era, the audio tour started out with the air raid sounds. Even though I had heard the same sounds numerous times before, hearing them in that bunker with the historical context really gave it a whole new level of intensity.

    So, yeah, I think I could hear clicking via MP3 and still go to the UK, put on some headphones dangling from a branch and be mesmorized by the magic of nature.

    Reply
  • 11. chriggy  |  May 18, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Agreed. While I would love to be able to go there and hear the sound in person, that’s just not in the books right now. But I’d still like to hear the sound.

    And If I ever do go, I don’t thing it would lessen the experience.

    Reply
  • 12. Clint  |  May 18, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I liken it to keeping a secret unnecessarily, so you can feel special and superior.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


