Thanks a Lot, Google.

April 25, 2008 at 8:44 pm 8 comments

It’s 8:52 PM EST and just now I’m finding out it is the National Observance of Arbor Day?!?

I blame you, Google.  I have become so accustomed to you keeping me abreast of significant days.  Just this year, you’ve changed your logo for New Year’s, Martin Lurther King Day, Lego’s 50 Year Birthday, Chinese New Year, Valentine’s Day, February 29th, St. Patrick’s Day, First Day of Spring and Earth Day.  I count on you, now!

But, guess what!  Not even knowing it was Arbor Day, I did invest in some trees!!! I’m redoing the landscaping of the front yard.  I’m going with an Appalachian Trail inspired theme.  So today I got:

Even though I recently joined the American Rhododendron Society, I’m not exactly a fan of most rhododendrons you see in yards.  But Rhododendron catawbiense is a species native to the Appalachian Mountains and therefore vastly superior to all its relatives. 🙂

I did look for Mountain Fetterbush, but the closest I could find was a Japanese version (Pieris japonica).  The nursery told me it is pretty hard to find Pieris floribunda. 

But that is okay– I am extremely satisfied with the current shrub combination.  It’s like a mini-Biltmore Estates!

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Azalea, home improvement, Mountain Fetterbush, Mountain Laurel, Rhododendron. Tags: .

Season Compare: Wind Rocks Meet White-Breasted Nuthatch

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Meet White-Breasted Nuthatch « TGAW  |  April 26, 2008 at 9:01 am

    […] promptly tested myself and, phew, I can identify more than 10 things in my yard. Heck, if you count my arbor day purchases, I have 10 in trees […]

    Reply
  • 2. Sour Swinger  |  April 26, 2008 at 10:15 am

    Typical American. Blame someone else for mistakes. As for Arbor day, perhaps Google realizes how unimportant it is to plant trees. In fact it can be bad to force plant trees in certain areas.

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  April 26, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Though, New Orleans was probably not one of those areas.🙂

    Reply
  • 4. TGAW  |  April 26, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    @Sour Swinger – I can certainly laugh at myself and my typical American ways and I do agree that planting trees in certain areas can have negative effects. But I am having trouble understanding how planting trees could be deemed “unimportant”. Even ignoring the controversial subjects of “climate change” and “carbon absorption”, trees are beneficial in so many ways:

    1) They improve air quality. The leaves filter out dust particles , they absorb air pollutants and in return give us oxygen.
    2) They can provide us with food – like yummy yummy pecans and apples (I’m thinking about the great pies Sean’s mom has made from the trees in her backyard).
    3) They prevent soil erosion, keep silt from building up in rivers and they slow down water pollution.
    4) They reduce heating and cooling costs (in the winter, they reduce heating costs by serving as a wind-break. In the summer, they provide shade and keep homes cooler).
    5) They reduce stress in the workplace and help shorten hospital stays.

    Not to mention subjective stuff like, “Trees are Pretty.” 🙂

    I think the actual act of planting a tree has it’s benefits as well. First off, you are away from the TV and outside. You are breathing fresh air. You are interacting with neighbors, building a sense of community. And I can personally attest that planting a tree is indeed aerobic exercise.

    Next, I have family trivia! Our Great Uncle Chuck piloted a B-24 during WWII. He spent nine months in a Vet hospital and successfully recovered from his war injuries. He was an accomplished engineer with the American Bridge Company. He has visited every state of the union. And into his nineties, he still ran his own beef farm.

    What is the accomplishment Great Uncle Chuck is most proud of?

    According to a conversation I had with him in 2003– a group of white pine trees he planted over 45 years ago.

    “I made my own forest.”

    I think Great Uncle Chuck recognizes the important of planting trees.

    And on this matter, I’m with him. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. John Perkins  |  April 27, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Pieris floribunda does not grow very well at lower elevelations in the south. Grows fine here in Salem, NH.

    Reply
  • 6. Vicky  |  April 27, 2008 at 8:12 am

    @John Perkins – Thanks! I will just enjoy it when I can on the mountain tops!🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Sour Swinger  |  April 27, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    @TGAW
    LoL. My comment was part sarcastic joke. You went into good detail there. I agree planting trees are important, however my attitude about it is on the same level as global warming, recycling, conserving energy, etc…non practicing.

    Reply
  • 8. tgaw  |  May 2, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Ooh, a good example of trees at work:

    http://ideonexus.com/2008/05/02/let-the-phytoremediation-begin/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


