Cows and Calves

April 18, 2008 at 8:12 am 1 comment

Last weekend, I visited the farm of my ninety-one year old great uncle. The last time I was up at the farm was April 2006. It is not a coincidence that when I visit, I target the month of April. That’s when the baby cows are born! I keep hoping to get the timing just right to witness a calf birth. In 2006, I found a goop covered calf being licked my its mother, so I think I just missed it. This year, the closest I got was a 2-day old calf:


I was two days too late to see this guy being born.

I did get to see plenty of calves and calf-related activities:


A group of baby cows


Nursing

And I saw some older, but still cool looking, cows:


Black cow by white barn


A brown cow eats

So…. so what if I didn’t get to see a birth? That’s what YouTube is for. And I did get to see something is more rare– my ninety-four year old grandmother getting to visit her ninety-one year old brother!


More rare than amniotic fluid bursting in pastures

More pictures from my visit to Great Uncle Chuck’s Farm are on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Cow, Great Uncle Chuck, Travel. Tags: .

2nd Most Expensive Hike – Keffer Oak Snubbed McAfee Knob Pose!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. A-Ron  |  April 18, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Having seen a few myself, I’m confident to tell you that you’re not missing anything.đŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


