2nd Most Expensive Hike – Keffer Oak

April 18, 2008 at 12:06 am 7 comments

What’s the best way to celebrate Jimmie’s 11th Birthday? Why, a hike of course! So on Tuesday, Sean and I took both Jimmie and Henry for an after-work outing– Keffer Oak on the Appalachian Trail. It was a short, easy stroll of about 1.8 miles. Nothing to brag about on the athletic front, but boy, it was a great day to be out and about.


The long branches of Keffer Oak


Blazed sign and in the background a blazed stile


The Keffer Oak is another example of a hungry tree— in its long life, it has absorbed barbed wire


Birthday pup finding the outing…uh… relieving

Unfortunately, on my way home from this hike, I managed to secure myself a speeding ticket. I haven’t had the heart to calculate the actual payment amount, but I know enough to believe this will be my second most expensive hike.

The most expensive would be Sinking Creek Mountain in 2004. After an 11.3 mile day hike with both dogs, I managed to skid on a gravel road and hit a tree. That damage ran around $1100.


Aftermath of my most expensive hike

Sinking Creek Mountain may hold the “Most Expensive” title for some time to come (at least, I hope so), but this tiny Keffer Oak hike has a decent chance of overtaking the “Cost Per Mile” category.

Sinking Creek Mountain Hike – 2004
$1100 car damage / 11.3 miles = $97.35 per mile

If my Tuesday speeding infraction ends up costing more than $175.03… then victory is sealed.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the incumbent…the underdog.

P.S. PassionPhish and his family are going to be spreadsheeting the financial and environmental cost of a backpacking trip shortly. Hopefully, they won’t have to add a column for “moving violations” or “body work”. πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Keffer Oak, Sinking Creek Mountain. Tags: .

links for 2008-04-16 Cows and Calves

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  April 18, 2008 at 7:53 am

    How do you end up paying $1100 if you have insurance?

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  April 18, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Because the tree was willing, I decided to keep my insurance (and my premiums) out of the proceedings.

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  April 18, 2008 at 9:59 am

    I really doubt your premiums would increase such that you would cumulatively pay over $1100 more. Mine haven’t gone up since MY $1100 accident, of which I was “more than 1% reponsible”.

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  April 18, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Well, in retrospect you may be right. The following year I got into an accident with another car and it was my fault. I claimed that on insurance and my premiums did NOT go up. In fact, when I called it in they realized I was married and then they sent me a REFUND for my premium. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. A-Ron  |  April 18, 2008 at 10:17 am

    I like how you conveniently forgot to mention how fast you were going.πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 6. Season Compare: Sinking Creek Valley « TGAW  |  April 19, 2008 at 9:16 am

    […] my 2nd Most Expensive Hike, I did try to snag the same […]

    Reply
  • 7. Kazeljtj  |  July 3, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Hi! poegy nlgmw izmfd iufvz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


