Virginia License Plate – Design Finalists!

April 16, 2008 at 1:35 pm 11 comments

The Appalachian Trail Conservancy and the Virginia DMV have come with with three designs for the new specialty plate.  The ATC is conducting a survey on the designs.  You can vote for your favorite here.


Option A


Option B


Option C

I like that McAfee’s Knob clearly made it in two of the three designs.  If you go by the image name, the last design was apparently inspired by Mount Rogers.  That was not obvious to me.

My favorite is Option A.  I love that it is McAfee’s Knob.  I like the slight green of the landscape.  The logo on the right is reminiscent of the old metal blazes used for the AT.  And– I find the hiker’s raised arms an extremely accurate representation of how you feel the very first time you make it up the to that view.

Polls on the plate design stay open until 5 PM on May 14th.  The winning design will be announced at Trail Days in Damascus on May 16th.  You could not get more fitting than that!

Entry filed under: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, License Plate. Tags: .

Calibrating Happiness links for 2008-04-16

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  April 16, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    A is more fun, but B is more respectful to the commonwealth of VA.

    “Don’t climb our mountains and have fun! Climb our mountains and reflect on this wonderful country, or off to Guantanimo with ya!”

    Reply
  • 2. thruhike98  |  April 16, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I like ’em all! I agree with you about the AT emblem on option A. That makes it for me. I like the hiker silhouette of option B better, but it’s that logo…

    How much more (foot) traffic will this image generate for McAfee’s Knob? (I’m betting it’ll be either opt. A or B – a recognizable Virgina landmark, and just a cool image at that!)

    Reply
  • 3. Carolyn  |  April 16, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    I agree with Thruhike that the hiker silhouette of option B is better.. But it belongs on the background of Option A.

    Option B looks more like a real hiker to me…. Option A’s hiker looks like something Kipp would do.🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  April 16, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    LOL LOLLLOL

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  April 16, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    @Carolyn – But Option B’s hiker is much closer to the edge than Option A’s hiker. Kipp would definitely be close the edge. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  April 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    @thruhike98 – I’m hoping it will be Option A or B. I think Option C is a little too close to the standard “scenic” plates with the Blueridge Mountains.

    I’m not sure how much a license plate would effect foot traffic… Hmm…

    Reply
  • 7. Carolyn  |  April 16, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Yeah, but Kipp wouldn’t be all contemplate-y like that.

    Reply
  • 8. geekhiker  |  April 17, 2008 at 12:56 am

    Just a foreigners perspective: I personally like A & C. I rather like the sort of “etherial” quality to C, wheras A has the best color scheme.

    I can’t even tell you how tempted I was to get the CA plate with Yosemite Valley on it when I got the truck…

    Reply
  • 9. A-Ron  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:38 am

    I’m down with A, myself.

    Reply
  • 10. McAfee’s Knob! « TGAW  |  April 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    […] I got to meet PassionPhish and MissesPhish from http://lazybackpacker.wordpress.com. They just moved into Virginia and have not yet had a chance to hike any of the Virginia Appalachian Trail miles. So what better place to take them than the overlook that may very well be on our Virginia AT License plate? […]

    Reply
  • […] wasn’t my favorite of the three designs, but it still features McAfee’s Knob, so I’m more than satisfied!  If you are […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


