New River Gorge Bridge

April 15, 2008 at 2:28 pm 4 comments

Last Friday night, I drove from Blacksburg, Virginia to my Great Uncle’s farm in New Castle, Pennsylvania. 

My trip takes me right over the New River Gorge Bridge which crosses, surprisingly enough, the New River Gorge.  The bridge was completed in 1977 and is currently the Western Hemisphere’s Largest Steel Arch Bridge.  On the north side of the New River, there is a visitor’s center and observation platforms.  Some people stop there to see the bridge.  Some people stop there to admire New River Gorge.  And for a single day each October, hundreds of thousands of people stop to witness “Bridge Day” where parachutists and rappellers jump off the bridge.

As for me, I stopped there because of fog.

Yup, fog.  It was a stipulation I set up well ahead of time when I was still paying tolls on I-77, “I’m only stopping if the fog is phenomenal.”

Miles later on US-19, I was crossing the bridge and sure enough there was fog.  My right turn blinker was activated almost instantly and within a few minutes I was running down to the observation platform.

The fog was quick to lift, but I managed to get a few shots in before continuing on my six-hour journey.


New River Gorge with Fog


Wet evergreens with the New River Gorge Bridge


Evergreens, gorge, fog

More pictures of my quick stop at New River Gorge can be found on my Flickr site.

P.S. This year’s Bridge Day is October 18th.  Anyone going?

Entry filed under: Travel. Tags: .

Happy 11th Birthday Jimmie! Season Compare: New River Gorge

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Can I just say that your photography gets more impressive every single time I see it? You clearly have a natural eye for the camera! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  April 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    @geekhiker– Heh, thanks. Your compliment has good timing! I was just looking at some other New River Gorge Bridge pictures on Flickr. A man going by Trask has some amazing ones of fog from last October. This shot in particular caught my eye:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/trasksmith/1906932868/in/set-72157602988639226/

    Now that is phenomenal fog!

    Reply
  • 3. Matt  |  April 15, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    New Caste, eh? Damn, you went right by me. Don’t stop and visit or anything, sheesh! *JK* Actually it’s probably a good thing you didn’t, my place is a mess…😉 And yes, I know you don’t know exactly where I live, hehe.

    Reply
  • 4. A-Ron  |  April 16, 2008 at 8:27 am

    I believe you and GeekHiker have quite an affinity for photography.😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


