Geocaching: Functionality Helps

April 7, 2008 at 10:40 am 6 comments

The first few geocaches I went on, I wasn’t entirely familiar of all the features of the GPS. All I knew how to do was read my current coordinates. So I ended up wandering around pretty aimlessly and doing spot checks with my coordinates to see if it looked like the numbers were getting any closer to the published coordinates. Geocaching got significantly easier when I found the “Go To” function on the GPS where it would give you not only the estimated mileage to the destination but a convenient arrow graphic to point you in the right direction.

As challenging as my naivety made my first few geocaches, this morning xkcd.com showed me it could have been worse.


Cheap GPS from xkcd.com

Can you image trying to find a geocache under THOSE circumstances?!?!

Entry filed under: Geocaching. Tags: .

ABCs of Orchids links for 2008-04-07

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. A-Rod  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Essentially, isn’t that all it is when you follow the arrow?

    Reply
  • 2. TGAW  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Heh, not exactly. If I hit a “COLD” section, I don’t have to backtrack to the last “HOT” or “WARM” area. The arrow already accounts for my new position and shows me the way.

    Plus when you first start off, “COLD” will provide no insight about direction whatsoover.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  April 7, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Someday I’ll try the geocaching thing. Seems I’m already so darn busy taking pictures, though…

    Reply
  • 4. Hick@Heart  |  April 7, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Sometimes I think the cold and hot is just as good. Other times, I’m glad I have the goto function.

    Geocaching With Team Hick@Heart

    Reply
  • 5. tonka_boy  |  April 7, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Don’t feel bad about wandering around aimlessly. Isn’t that what geocaching really is? But it’s fun!

    The Northwoods Geocats

    Reply
  • 6. Angel  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:32 am

    I remember my brother and I doing a geocache out in Austin about 4 years ago or so. His GPS had that functionality but it wasn’t that precise. I remember wandering about in some rusty section of town near a dried up creek bed and accidentally stepping through a red ant hill and getting bit by a ton of angry little ants. I was not a happy camper.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


