Poverty Creek and the Advantage of Green

April 2, 2008 at 10:12 am 4 comments

I’m still struggling with my Sinking Creek Mountain post. My affection for a mountain that is consistently overlooked by area hikers combined with my affection for the birthday hike tradition keeps producing paragraphs that sound…. well… preachy. Luckily, while I try temper my tone, I have an easy topic to share.

On Monday evening, I was able to squeeze in a quick outing to the Poverty Creek Trail. The Poverty Creek area boasts a number of multi-use trails. Horses, mountain bikers, trail runners and hikers all co-exist on a network of trails of varying difficulty… The way the Roanoke Times put it, there is “A Wealth of Trails at Poverty Creek” (Hur hur– wealth, poverty, get it?). It’s not my favorite, but it is a nice area and very convenient to me.

When I was a child, I loved my father’s green eyes. Green quickly became my favorite color. Quick side note– I recently found out my parents exploited my fondness of the color to get me to eat my vegetables when I was young. They told me if I ate enough peas (or green beans or spinach, etc) my eyes would turn green. So as I ate dinner, they would tell me, “THEY ARE STARTING TO TURN GREEN! HURRY! EAT MORE!”

Now as an adult, I still have blue eyes, but I love vegetables and I love green. My last few hiking outings, it’s dawned on me that I’m pretty darn lucky to have a favorite color of green in this area. Thanks to all the rhododendrons and mountain laurel, no matter what time of year I go out, I’m accompanied by at least some splashes of the color. Now that its spring, there’s even more green in the mushrooms and mosses and ferns and lichens. And this is before the trees get their leaves and the dormant vegetation returns!

If I had a different favorite color, I would have more difficulty getting my fix. If my favorite color was pink (Sorry Ann), I would have to wait for June when the rhododendrons bloomed. If my favorite color was purple (Sorry Carolyn), I would have to wait for the trilliums and wild geraniums in May. If my favorite color was blue (Sorry Jay), I’d be stuck looking at the sky and tripping over rocks. If my favorite color was orange (Sorry…uh… hmm. I don’t know anyone whose favorite color is orange), I’d be limited to flame azaleas.

So yeah, I’m lucky to have green as a favorite color here in southwest Virginia. The only way I figure I could improve on green… was if I fancied brown.


Rhododendron (green) arcing out of the water


Mushrooms (green) and lichen (green) growing on a log


Fallen trees over Poverty Creek… in the background, rhododendrons (green!)


Brown lovers wet dream?

More pictures of Poverty Creek, including non-green pictures, can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Hiking, Poverty Creek. Tags: .

Hearts in Nature (Caldwell Fields) links for 2008-04-02

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pneumoniaBoy  |  April 2, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Except for green water! eeewww

    Speaking of green… I wish my lawn were.😦

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  April 2, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Given our Mediterranean Climate, combined with your love of green, you are hereby only allowed to visit California in the spring. Sorry. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. Do I Drop Things More Than Most People? « TGAW  |  April 3, 2008 at 9:23 am

    […] 3, 2008 In just an hour outing to Poverty Creek on Monday, I dropped Henry’s leash, my cell phone and my car keys.  My cell phone is barely […]

    Reply
  • 4. Busy Beavers « TGAW  |  April 4, 2008 at 12:34 am

    […] explored the field a bit, then ventured into the woods and surprise! We found overselves on the Poverty Creek Trail again! (On a different section this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


