Hearts in Nature (Caldwell Fields)

April 1, 2008 at 10:00 am 16 comments

If I happen to decide to make my own Valentine’s Day Cards in 2009, I have two contenders for the cover from Caldwell Fields:


A heart made from a log and its reflection in Craig’s Creek


Hey! Wait! I’ve Got a New Complaint!

More pictures from this Caldwell Fields trip can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Caldwell Fields, Hearts in Nature, Hiking, Valentine's Day. Tags: .

Season Compare – Caldwell Fields Poverty Creek and the Advantage of Green

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ronbailey  |  April 1, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Love ’em both – but the log/reflection heart is really something special.

    Great shots!

    Reply
  • 2. geekhiker  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Looks like you’re all set for next year!

    Reply
  • 3. pneumoniaBoy  |  April 2, 2008 at 9:04 am

    The rock is sharp! Did you keep it?

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  April 2, 2008 at 10:22 am

    @pneumoniaBoy – No, of course not, that would violate the the principle of “Take Only Pictures, Leave Only Footprints”

    (It’s…uh… it’s on the kitchen table next to a stack of mail.)

    Reply
  • 5. Clint  |  April 2, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I think the “leave no trace” edict is a bit heavy-handed, emotional-driven. I’d keep the rock too. I really don’t think the parks are going to run out of rocks. COOL ones, maybe, because people take them. Which makes it that much more special when you find one. It’s your planet; keep part of it! Your taxes also helped pay for the park. You probably put more than the rock’s value of tax money into that very same park over the course of your lifeπŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  April 2, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    @ClintJCL – Even though I am not always 100% compliant, I do see the merit in the principles of Leave No Trace and for the most part do my best to stick to it.

    But I do believe different situations cause for different stringencies. For example, with human waste– around here, catholes I am fine with. However, I have read about how in some very rocky areas, they have trouble with no place to bury your poo. So you get to these rocky mountain-sides and you are greeted with pockets of old toilet paper.

    You are going to disagree and possibly cringe– but in those sections I think we should be packing our waste out.
    .
    P.S. There are a lot of interesting debates about poo on the trail. One practice proposed is to take a stick and smear “it” thinly over a rock or a log. Supposedly that way, it dries out and decomposes faster than it would if it were buried.

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  April 2, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    I just realized this post started with feel-good topics like hearts and nature and love.

    And now it has degraded to…. smearing poo on a rock.

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  April 2, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Hahahah

    anyway — ugh. I would hope that if you are hiking somewhere where there is no good “offshoot” to poo, that you would know this and poo in advance, or wait until a time when you can poo somewhere other than a rocky ledge people will later climb. hahhehehehehehhee That’s funny stuff.

    How about “Fling it off the mountain”??

    Reply
  • 9. geekhiker  |  April 2, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…. *snort*

    Too funny. πŸ˜€

    And now, thanks to Clint, I have a new song (“Go fling it off the mountain”) playing in my head…

    Reply
  • 10. Dave  |  April 3, 2008 at 4:48 pm

    If you smear poop thinly over a rock as you suggest, maybe it will turn into paper. Like this:

    http://xrl.us/biu7x

    Reply
  • 11. tgaw  |  April 4, 2008 at 12:52 am

    @Dave– Oooh! Actually my favorite chocolate store in my favorite airport (that would be Gayle’s Chocolates at Detroit Airport) sells Elephant Dung stationary. I have been meaning to by some (another hobby of mine is letter-writing)… but I keep getting distracted by more appetizing purchases.

    Reply
  • 12. tgaw  |  April 4, 2008 at 12:53 am

    @ronbailey – This is a delayed reaction, but I do thank you for comment. Thanks for posting!

    Reply
  • 13. Dave  |  April 4, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Your quick mention of delicious chocolates so soon after the Elephant Dung and smeared poop discussion is alarming to me. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 14. TGAW  |  April 4, 2008 at 10:10 am

    @Dave – A lady can always think fondly of chocolate, regardless of circumstance. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 15. Katie  |  April 12, 2008 at 8:24 am

    I love that you started with Valentines Day but ended with Elephant Dung.

    I think I like the stone photo best for V Day cards

    And, letter writing is a hobby of mine, too, although not nearly as much of a hobby as buying nice stationary, cards, etc.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 16. Hearts in Nature: Rocky Gap « TGAW  |  May 17, 2008 at 12:17 am

    […] 17, 2008 This is not my favorite heart in nature, but it is another candidate for a nature-themed Valentine’s Day 2009 Card. This is from the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


