Season Compare – Caldwell Fields

March 31, 2008 at 9:01 am 6 comments

Continuing my tradition of season comparison shots, here is Caldwell Fields:


Caldwell Fields – March 24, 2008


Caldwell Fields – May 14, 2007

The above combination I architected on purpose, but when I was going through my pictures, I had a bonus season compare at the creek.


Rock and Creek – March 24, 2008


Rock and Creek – May 14, 2007

More pictures from Caldwell Fields can be found on my Flickr site:

Fields in May

Fields in March

Finally, if you yearn to read more about the fields, I have written about them on this blog before. 🙂

Entry filed under: Caldwell Fields, Hiking, Season Compare. Tags: .

Gunfire at Jefferson National Forest Hearts in Nature (Caldwell Fields)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pneumoniaBoy  |  March 31, 2008 at 10:40 am

    I spy Jimmie!

    Reply
  • 2. TGAW  |  March 31, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Yes, yes you do! And nice name you are commenting under today.

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  March 31, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Nice pictures! I should start doing some season-compare things, rather than just before-and-after the firestorm comparisons…

    Reply
  • 4. TGAW  |  March 31, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    “just before-and-after the firestorm comparisons”

    I wouldn’t preceed that with the word “just”. I thought your fire recovery pictures were incredibly interesting and I adore seeing nature rebound and reclaim what’s its.

    Personally I like looking at the season compares, but I’m not sure how exciting they are to other people in present times. But perhaps in the future these shots and their dates will be of interest or value.

    At the time Thoreau’s journals meticulously recording the dates of spring blooms may have seemed like excessive detail. And a simple photograph of a cemetary in Lowell, Masschusetts in 1868 could have been written off as a boring shot. But both of these items have proven to be of interest to today’s scientific community.

    Scientists Team Up with Thoreau

    Ultimate Season Compare – 1896 vs 2005

    On a similiar note, ClintJCL recently uploaded pictures of Postal Inspectors from 1903, 1975 and 2005. At the time they were snapped, the pictures were just your run-of-the-mill group shots and I would speculate pretty boring– but together as a group, they tell a tale of how our society has changed and grown to accept women and race in the workplace.

    Blah blah blah. Well, I suppose I should get back to work now.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  April 1, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    I think my problem is that I never seem to have the organization skills to plan to do the comparison pictures. If I decide to go on a trail I’ve done before, I never seem to remember to look at my old pictures to try and get matching shots. Hence, the “just”. *sigh*

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  April 2, 2008 at 10:26 am

    @geekhiker – All my initial ones were lucky accidents. All the ones in Something the Thru-Hikers Miss were coincidences. I just happened to take similar pictures for the same spots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


