Good for Gillie’s

March 30, 2008 at 12:47 am 6 comments

This evening I was finishing up another home project. With moderate haste, I was removing excess grout from tile faces with a sponge and every so often, I’d yell downstairs, “HOW MUCH TIME?!?!”

Sean would look at a clock and tell me how close it was to 8 PM.

I finished my work at 7:52 PM… which gave me a good eight minutes to get ready for Earth Hour!

And right on time, the house went dark. With my contribution taken care of, I rushed outside to marvel at the global effort! It almost had the same feel of Halloween or 4th of July. That’s how excited I was.

Only… everything looked just the same. Across the street, my neighbor’s dog laid in the driveway. I could see this clearly because the floodlight above the garage was still on. To the left, I saw houses dotted with lit rooms. To the right, I saw houses dotted with lit rooms. The street lights were still on. Even the neighbor who religiously walks or takes the bus to work had light emanating from his upstairs.

And it wasn’t a fluke with our street. Sean and I leashed the two dogs and walked through adjacent neighborhoods. We found only one house that had the distinctive faint flicker of candlelight from within. What happened? Don’t these people use Google?

I was pretty bummed out, but not so distraught to ignore my grumbling stomach. With half of Earth Hour to go, Sean and I ditched the dogs in the completely dark house (ha ha suckers) and set out to find some grub. The drive downtown only served to dampen my mood. I looked out the window and watched the lights of various franchises whiz by.


Lights on North Main Street


And even MORE lights on North Main Street

BUT– on College Avenue, amongst all these blaring lights there was a glimmer of hope! Gillie’s was dark! And as you got closer, you could see they were still open for business. They had turned out the lights in the dining area. Patrons were eating by candlelight!


Gillie’s dining area, lit by candles


Candle at Gillie’s

Well, I joined those patrons! I had salmon with blackberry sauce, fresh asparagus and some cream of broccoli and asparagus soup. The meal was delicious. But tonight, Gillie’s served me up something better.

They saved my Earth Hour.

Entry filed under: Blacksburg, Earth Hour, Gillies, Virginia. Tags: .

links for 2008-03-29 False Advertising: Maneater

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ethicaleating  |  March 30, 2008 at 4:36 am

    Good for you for taking part in Earth Hour!

    I hope that you will continue thinking about the environment and do more to reduce your carbon footprint. One of the quickest and most effective ways to reduce your contribution to climate change is to stop eating meat and dairy products. Animal agriculture is responsible for 18% of all greenhouse gases, that’s more than all the world’s transport systems!

    There are other advantages of a plant based diet too. You can improve your health, save grain and crops to feed to starving people instead of animals and, of course, there are huge benefits to animals.

    Give it a go!

    http://www.ethicaleating.org.uk

    Reply
  • 2. Sour Swinger  |  March 30, 2008 at 10:01 am

    I said baa to that earth hour thing. My lights stayed on. Mwhaa ha ha

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  March 30, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Agreed. I think it’s actually a dangerous idea, because it falsely makes people feel like they did something to address the problem.

    Reply
  • 4. ideonexus  |  March 30, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Actually, they did do something, however minor, to address the problem. Energy was saved by turning off the lights, and carbon footprints were reduced. It was minor, but it was something.

    More importantly, it drew a whole lot of media attention. All of the major news networks covered it, and the dittoheads were amusingly outraged by it. It spread the word and got people thinking about the issue.

    My only criticism of it, was that it got people thinking about it in a way I don’t think is constructive. We don’t have to give up our lights to combat global warming, we need to switch to LEDs. ethicaleating has the right idea, that there are much broader and more convenient ways to tackle the issue.

    But the biggest issue is that this won’t be resolved through people taking personal responsibility. There has to be huge changes at the government and business levels to promote alternative energies and stop rewarding current industries who refuse to innovate. Earth Hour was a good step toward that end.

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  March 30, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Wait, wait, wait… you drove during Earth Hour? That just doesn’t seem right, somehow…

    Okay, pot-n-kettle here: I did leave the TV on (LotR is awfully long to skip an hour, ya know), but I turned out the lights and lit a candle, though the stadium lights from the nearby park are bright enough to do surgury by anyway, so, oh, well…

    Reply
  • 6. tgaw  |  March 30, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    @GeekHiker – Ahaha. Good catch. But before the drive, there was a half hour of walking. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


