Easiest Lent Ever

March 28, 2008 at 10:51 am 4 comments

Well, it turns out Lent 2008 was my easiest Lent ever.  The leap to giving up red meat wasn’t as difficult as I had anticipated and I adjusted well to the text messaging restriction. 

Courtesy of text messaging, 2008 was also one of more amusing Lents.  I allowed myself to read text messages, but I wouldn’t write back.  This opened the door for a series of taunting messages.  When they knew I was on the road Derek, Sean and Larry all found it fit to send messages like this one:

From: Derek
Mar 17, 12:35 pm

Haha you can’t reply🙂

Meanwhile, one of my old co-workers took a very different approach.  He simply sent text messages to tell me when HE was driving.

From: Mark
Feb 21, 6:44 PM

I’m driving. 🙂

Giving up red meat, on the other hand, has been educational.  It taught me just how effective ad campaigns are.  You have no idea how many people approached me, insisting that pork is white meat.  It’s not!  The National Pork Board can use its slogan all it wants, but nutrition-wise PORK IS RED MEAT.  From the USDA Fact Sheet on Pork:

Why is Pork a “Red” Meat?
Oxygen is delivered to muscles by the red cells in the blood. One of the proteins in meat, myoglobin, holds the oxygen in the muscle. The amount of myoglobin in animal muscles determines the color of meat. Pork is classified a “red” meat because it contains more myoglobin than chicken or fish. When fresh pork is cooked, it becomes lighter in color, but it is still a red meat. Pork is classed as “livestock” along with veal, lamb and beef. All livestock are considered “red meat.”

As far as post-Lent, I’ve sort of had quite a reunion with red meat (including that deceptive pork).  A Pot Roast Burger from Red Robin, Meatball Sub from Substation II, Pork BBQ from Due South and a Victoria Filet with Horseradish Crust from Outback have all been ingested in just this week.  Hopefully, this reunion is brief and I’ll settle down to substantially less red meat.

But on a positive note, chriggy and ClintJCL may be happy to learn that I’m still not typing away while driving.  I’m aiming for that change to stick! 🙂

Entry filed under: Derek P, Food, Larry Bowman, Lent, Pork, Sean. Tags: .

Billy Joel Exposes Me Gwyn vs. the Volcano

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  March 28, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Wow, I was a marketing victim too! Note to self: Pork is red….. Pigs are pink, which is a mix of red & white — okay, I guess I can’t use that a mnemonic device. I’ll just have to remember that “the pork is not what it seems”.

    And congrats on not texting while driving …. speech-to-text-based texting, which some phones support, would probably be safer… but i just don’t think anything’s that important while driving.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Chriggy  |  March 28, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I hope you’re not reading messages while driving either😛

    Reply
  • 3. TGAW  |  March 28, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Eh…. er…. no comment.

    Reply
  • 4. A Different Kind of Lent « TGAW  |  March 23, 2011 at 1:03 am

    […] comes with each year. Usually I give up something. In past years I have targetted Pepsi, desserts, red meat, cheese, text messaging while driving, credit card usage. One year I also gave up, “Reading […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


