Tiling & Geocaching

March 5, 2008 at 11:10 am 13 comments

Whoops.  It occurs to me it’s been over a week since I’ve posted.  That’s not good.  Here’s some quick notes of what I’ve been up to:

Tiling
Remember that bathroom Jimmie destroyed two years ago?  It’s finally getting tiled!  This weekend, supplies were purchased, ceramic tiles were laid out and cut (courtesy of Bill C’s wet saw), AND they were placed with thin-set mortar.  I was so into tiling this past weekend, that A) I set an alarm for early Sunday morning so I could get to work and B) I woke up before that alarm went off (like a kid on Christmas!).  After an suspenseful 24 hour wait, the mortar set.  I walked on the tiles and they did not crack under my weight!  So the tiles were ready for the next test.  I had Sean walk on the tiles and they did not crack under his weight.  I am pleased.  Next stop– grouting!


Tiling!!!!

This bathroom is humble– It has less than 25 square feet.  And yet, it has proven to be the most educational room in my entire house.  With this one room I’ve had to:

  • Paint ceiling 
  • Remove wallpaper 
  • Repair drywall
  • Remove baseboard trim
  • Paint walls
  • Remove carpet tacks (The Wonder Bar makes this a LOT easier)
  • Remove carpet staples (needle nose plyers make this a LOT easier)
  • Learn the advantage of not sticking carpet tacks through one’s fingernail
  • Measure and cut ceramic tiles
  • Apply the tiles to the floor
  • Learn the tile spacer need is greater than I expected.  (I had delicately counted all my tile intersections and subtracted the tile spacers I had on-hand and went to Lowes thinking I needed 28 more tile spacers.  I was dismayed that I had to buy them in packs of 200.  Welp, turns out I used a LOT more than that once the thin-set was in the equation).
  • Embarass myself with how I thought one “snaps” a chalk line.


Drywall – Before and after

The lessons from this bathroom are not over yet.  The syllabus still includes:

  • Grouting
  • Sealing grout
  • Caulking
  • Installing trim
  • Installing a toilet

Believe it or not, I look forward to all those tasks…. even the toilet.

Geocache Maintenance
With the exception of business travel, I haven’t really been keeping up with my geocaching hobby.  This came abundantly clear to me last weekend, when I picked up the new issue of the New River Valley Magazine and saw an article on geocaching that did not quote me.  What the…?  All area geocaching articles quote me!   Well…. all two of them.  ;) 

My second sign that I’ve fallen out of the local arena of the sport– two my caches got reported to the geocaching.com administrators for being wet and cracked and mild-dewy.  So on Monday, with beautiful spring weather, I played hooky from work and replaced one of those cache containers.  THERE!  See that geocaching administrators and local magazine writers????  I *STILL* geocache.

And I’m still available for comment. 🙂

Entry filed under: Geocaching, home improvement. Tags: .

Favorite Oscar Moment links for 2008-03-05

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  March 5, 2008 at 11:20 am

    If you enjoy it so much, why don’t you come over and re-tile our 2nd shower (never usable as long as we’ve lived in the house due to water running between cracked tils and into the wall)?

    hahaha🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  March 5, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I see I am not the only person to blog about The Wonderbar🙂

    Reply
  • 3. The Handyguys  |  March 5, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Cool – A DIYer and a cacher! I have done a little caching myself. Right now I am running a blog/podcast site where we discuss DIY topics and help people out with projects.

    We have a show going live this Thursday at 5PM ET all about toilet troubleshooting. We do not talk too much about installing toilets but do mention it. If you have any questions about re-installing your toilet, grouting or anything else on your list please feel free to reach out and ask.

    The Handyguys
    http://www.handyguyspodcast.com

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  March 5, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    @ClintJCL – Heh. I’ll keep your offer in mind, but don’t hold your breath. Also the Wonderbar rules.

    @The Handyguys- Hey! Thanks for commenting. It’s great to have another resource at my disposal. Do not be surprised if a toilet question does come your way! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. The Handyguys  |  March 5, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    tgaw – Listen to tomorrows podcast or at least read the scheduled blog posting before asking questions🙂 . If you have an iPod you can subscribe to the podcast and then every time we have a new show it will go to your player. Pretty cool huh? This also works with other MP3 players too. Or just play the audio on your PC.

    The new posts/podcasts go online every Thursday at 5PM. Next week is all about drills.

    Oh and wonder bars – The Handyguys made that a component of our recommended tool kit for all homeowners.

    Reply
  • 6. Clint  |  March 5, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    I just wish I didn’t have to pay full price for a tool that I probably wont use again while in this house (and if I move far enough, shipping it could cost more than buying a new one). I wish there was some sort of CouchSurfing.com equivalent for tools🙂 Having to buy a shovel sucked.

    Reply
  • 7. ideonexus  |  March 5, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    Actually, Worldchanging has suggested setting up community “tool libraries” on many occasions. I think it’s a great idea and every community should have one; although, Lowes and Home Depot would throw a fit.

    I could donate a ton of tools with all the “one time use” items I’ve had to buy over the last two years rebuilding my house. I expect to take all these tools in couple of years, gathering dust, and put them on the curb with a “Free Tools!” sign. : )

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  March 5, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    At least use Freecycle before doing THAT!🙂

    I’ll still keep all mine. Storage doesn’t hurt me. I got an attic, a utility room, crawlspaces, and 2 shitty psuedo-sheds the hold all my junk in the event that I might use it. So um… you can give them to me, too. Heh.

    Reply
  • 9. Aaron  |  March 5, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Swing by my place… tiling is on the to-do list for the kitchen and both bathrooms.😉

    And it could be worse. You could have a tentative place for 6 new Geocaches and be too lazy to throw together some decent swag, container and finally publish them.

    Reply
  • 10. jrog101  |  March 6, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I say you go out and place a new cache in honor of your new bathroom. If you can’t get out and get your geocaching fix, drop by my site. You can read about my geocaching adventures and I have links to some fun to read geocaching blogs.
    Geocaching With Team Hick@Heart

    Reply
  • 11. geekhiker  |  March 6, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Heh, my Dad gave me one of those Wonderbars years ago. It’s amazing all the uses I’ve found for it around the house. Plus, I can use it to scare door-to-door salesmen, should the need arise. 😉

    Reply
  • 12. Stacy  |  March 8, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    The tile looks good! Caulk’s easy btw. Just cut out the old caulk with a utility knife or razorblade scraper, clean off the surface and run a bead of new caulk. Don’t put too much on, and you can smooth it out with your finger and get professional-looking results…

    Reply
  • 13. Katie  |  March 10, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Wow! I’m super-impressed by your tiling efforts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


