Todd Miller, the Washington Monument and the Black Cat

February 17, 2008 at 2:33 pm 6 comments

On Friday night, I hung out with my good friend Aaron Evans. Our evening started off with a little bit of WWE. Cracked.com has a article on “5 Ways Hollywood Tricks You Into Seeing Bad Movies“, where they share a brilliant Venn diagram on the movie Sweeny Todd:

I would think a very similar diagram could be done for the “Raw Talent” episode of Project Runway, that the union between “People who watch WWE” and “People who watch Project Runway” would be extremely small. But there are some advantages. Aaron (a WWE fan) and I (a Project Runway fan) had both seen the episode. As a result, we were both able to participate in a conversation (albeit brief) on the other’s show. The weird union on Project Runway gave us something to chat about!

We also watched a few videos on Aaron’s computer. The highlight was this oldie-but-goodie. This is a New Year’s Eve party from many years ago. Our friend Todd gets so wound up in New Year’s that he almost kisses someone he shouldn’t.


I love how Todd pushes the guy away like it was *his* fault

After that, Aaron and I grabbed some coffee in Claredon. We stopped by the Iwo Jima Memorial and headed off to meet Heather and Joe at the Black Cat in D.C. On the way there I was already laying down the ground work for a brief visit.

“So… uh… I sort of get bored of bars quickly….” I said, “So… I don’t know how long I’ll want to stay.”

Welp, the Black Cat turned out to be super fun. It wasn’t smoky and overcrowded like the bars I am familiar with. *And* it was a special 80’s Night (Which is #29 on the Stuff White People Like List). I had so much fun (completely sober!), Aaron and I stayed until the club closed.


Me, Brenda, Heather (Photo by Aaron Evans)

In a town like Blacksburg, I would expect to run into people you know. In a city like D.C., I didn’t expect it. But as soon as we walked into the Black Cat, I saw some friends I hadn’t seen since August. And then later, a different set of friends showed up too!


I’ve known this guy since he was FOUR years old!!! In fact, you can see him in my high school photography. (Photo by Aaron Evans)

After we left the Black Cat, Aaron and I were not deterred by the time– we went and visited the Washington Monument (where I told Aaron about Virginia’s Sharp Top Mountain mistake), the Lincoln Memorial (where I told Aaron about my childhood booger incident) and the WWII Memorial (where at that point, I was too tired to have anything relevant to say).

It was an eventful evening. It was a fun evening and it was a loooooong evening. I didn’t get back to my parent’s until 5 AM.

Entry filed under: Aaron Evans, Kevin Pick, Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument. Tags: .

Vicky’s Valentine’s Day Dinner Hike with a Cause

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  February 17, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Ahahahaha, I remember that video, at least now I can get a copy in FLV (meh) format.🙂

    And it was fun running into Corinna at Bethany Beach, totally smashed. Antics ensued.

    And Todd? haha. I ended up making him bleed one time because he decided to start lunging at me for not showing him enough respect when he crashed my party (wtf?). He kept lunging at me until his braces tore his mouth, and then he was bleeding. Heh.. Don’t think I’ve really seen him since.

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  February 17, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    The bar wasn’t smoky and overcrowded because there is now a shitty smoking ban in D.C. Possibly the reason for it not being overcrowded either, but who knows. Come to think of it, my favorite bands all started going to Baltimore instead of D.C. around the same time. hmm.

    It was so weird seeing you in AE’s flickr photostream! That took me off guard. I’m glad you had fun.

    Reply
  • 3. Angel  |  February 20, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Dude, I live about a mile from the Black Cat! I wish I knew you were around!

    Reply
  • 4. TGAW  |  February 20, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    @Angel – Wow, I didn’t know that. Now…if I was a little more familiar with DC, I probably could have figured that out. Last November at the 9:30 Club, someone mentioned you lived nearby. I didn’t realize the 9:30 Club and the Black Cat were just 0.71 miles away from each other!

    Reply
  • 5. northface backpacks  |  October 7, 2013 at 6:24 pm

    You need to combine practicality and personal touch in the gifts.
    Once your clothes have been washed and waterproofed as
    necessary, place them in an airtight container and store them in a location that’s dry
    and out of direct sunlight. Tent camping is great for families
    with younger children because it’s fun, inexpensive, and the right combination of being
    outdoors without being too far from those modern conveniences.

    Reply
  • 6. https://Muzoic.com  |  March 28, 2016 at 1:43 pm

    My friend recommend listen post rock music albums and
    video. Awesome hottest music on this site…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


