Vicky’s Valentine’s Day Dinner

February 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm 3 comments

You learn something new every day. Yesterday I learned how spoiled I am when it comes to Valentine’s Day.

The past eleven years, I’ve had Sean. In high school, as soon as I acquired my first boyfriend I was pretty much never without that key accessory until graduation. In college I went for periods without dating, but I don’t remember any Valentine’s Day traumas.

So each year as the flurry of comments circulated about how Valentine’s Day is just a marketing ploy and how it is really Single Awareness Day and blah blah blah, I paid little note. It didn’t affect ME, after all. I still got to eat candy!

Well this year I’m at my parent’s house. Late yesterday afternoon I was working on my laptop. I was trying to get stupid SQL Server 2000 to truncate a stupid transaction log that I had stupidly let grow to 4 gigs with some impressive negligence (Finally was able to do it by changing the database’s recovery mode to “Simple”, backing up the database and then running DBCC ShrinkFile on it). With all my struggles, I figured some reheated lentil soup was my evening destiny. Then my mother called from a local restaurant where she was was meeting friends with an amazing deal!!! Two lobster & prime rib dinners for 19.99!!!

AWESOME! I love lobster! I was totally in!!! And who loves a great deal? My father… and I have tons of tales (many of them involving movie theaters and/or senior citizen discounts) to prove it.

With my mother still on the phone, I ran upstairs and went to wake up my father. I don’t think I could have hidden my enthusiasm if I tried.

“DAD! DAD! GET UP!!!! BRITTANY’S HAS A DEAL– TWO PRIME RIBS AND TWO LOBSTER TAILS FOR TWENTY DOLLARS!!!!!”

And as my giddy voice roused my deal-loving father from his slumber, the background processes of my mind worked through some simple addition.

1 + 1 + 1 ….

My dad leapt out of bed and was instantly ready to eat. And suddenly my mind alerted me to its calculation.

I gasped, “I have no one to share with!!! Who am I going to share with?!?!”

It was at that moment, I could commiserate with what all the single people have complained about for years. I was left out. I was going to be deprived cheap lobster… all because I was alone!??!

(It really took the lobster to open my eyes, I don’t think any other dish would have produced such soul-searching)

“Ruth Norman and I are sharing,” my mother said, “So you’re eating with your father.”

Booyah! Problem solved.

So me and my date, a.k.a Dad, headed over to the restaurant. There is another great deal at Brittany’s on Thursday nights. All you can eat roast beef for $2. My dad instantly got a plate to munch on while we waited.

It was so romantic. Red table clothes, white candles… and my Dad shoveling dirt cheap roast beef in his mouth, occasionally making slurping noises with the au jus.

Now if you are a diligent reader, you may remember I gave up red meat for Lent. My plan was to give my father my prime rib. But when the waitress arrived my father started to explain Lent and asked if I could get another lobster tail instead of prime rib.

“Dad, I doubt they can do that. It’s not fair.” I said, mostly to show the waitress that dissent with Dad was okay.

“I’m not sure. I’ll ask,” she said and disappeared in the back.

She returned shortly with drinks. As she started to hand out beverages to some of my mother’s friends, my charming date started to bark, “I got a Pepsi! Pepsi! Over here!”

And sure enough, thanks to the beauty of competence, our waitress happened to have a Pepsi on her tray allocated just for my father.

“The manager says ‘Okay'” she reported and gave Dad his coveted drink.

“Oh wow. Okay, I’ll do that,” I said.

“ME TOO!” Dad quickly added.

The waitress gave Dad a perplexed look, but left to place our order for four lobster tails.

When she was out of earshot, I poked fun at my father for exploiting the system.

“WHAT?” his eyebrows crinkled up innocently, “You gave up red meat for Lent, maybe I did too.”

“You’re eating roast beef.”

Dad looked at his plate and started to laugh, “Well, maybe I gave up prime rib for Lent!”

I am not sure if the waitress would buy that, but nonetheless she delivered us:

-Four lobster tails
-Two servings of delicious mashed potatoes
-Two servings of yummy roasted vegetables
-Two slices of cheesecake with strawberry topping
-And a red carnation for me!

Add that to all the laughter I had watching my father, and what a bargain!  Dinner and entertainment for just $19.99.

Entry filed under: Dad, Valentine's Day. Tags: .

Henry’s Hero Todd Miller, the Washington Monument and the Black Cat

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sour Swinger  |  February 17, 2008 at 12:41 am

    ROFL. That’s a Sawyer for you. Looking for whats cheap, bad table manors, and abusing the system as best they can. Was the food worth the price?

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  February 17, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    It wasn’t the best lobster I ever had, but by golly it was lobster! So yes, it was worth the price.

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  February 19, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Sounds like a great Valentines deal!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


