Tinker Cliffs

February 11, 2008 at 9:59 am 5 comments

Two Saturdays ago, I got to hike with Tony Airaghi again.  This time we were joined by Tony’s cousin, Bruce and Bruce’s old college roommate, Dave.  We chose Tinker Cliffs via the Andy Layne Trail.  Our trip was about six miles.

Wait
When I left my house, I left Tony a voicemail message.

“If it is really only 45 minutes, I’ll be on time, ” I said, “But you know me…  I would bet on me being late.”

As I neared our rendez-vous point, Tony called to report he was just leaving his house.  He was quite a ways behind me.

“Knowing me, you should have known *I* would be late!” he joked.

I am slow at ascents and the Andy Layne Trail sports a number of doozies.  I wasn’t worried about Tony.  On my very first hike over 10 miles long, it was Tony who encouraged me to go on my own pace and reminded me “We aren’t here to kill ourselves, we’re here to have a good time.”  (To this day, whenever I pass a hiker who appears to be struggling on hills, I repeat what Tony said to me).

Anyway, Tony witnessing a slow Vicky did not bother me.  He’s done that for years.  It was the two guys I did not know, this Dave and this Bruce (Hey both Kids in the Hall names!) who concerned me.  I could just see all three men waiting for me at the top of a hill and one of them turn to Tony and say, “I thought you said this girl hiked all the time!”  Also remembering our recent War Spur hike, I didn’t want to give anyone reason to throw snowballs at me from switchbacks.🙂

So I decided to get a head start.  My goal was to get past the two giant hills before the guys caught up.  I achieved my goal…and then some.  I made it past the giant hills, past the hollowed out tree, past the seven switchbacks, past Scorched Earth Gap and then to our final destination–the cliffs.  I waited at the cliffs for about an hour and still had no companions.  Luckily, I have all that self-portrait experience to rely on.


Me by me

Finally, I decided I should start my descent.  I left a quick voicemail on Tony’s cell phone, grabbed my pack and my dogs and suddenly Tony emerged out of the woods and our group was united.

Mud
This time, we did not get to see a jeep stuck in the mud, but I did get to see something pretty comparable.  As I approached that second giant hill, I passed two hikers.

“There’s a big hill coming up with a lot of mud on it,” one of the hikers told me, “You’re probably going to bite it– I did.”

The hiker’s clothes supported his story.  His entire backside was covered with mud.  And when I did inch my way up the “Mud Hill”, I could see distinct markings in the mud where the guy slipped and slid down the hill.

Everyone in our group managed to make it up without incident.  And a few hours later, we all managed to descend the hill cleanly as well.


Bruce and Tony celebrate making it down the mud hill


Ice
Near the top, the trees were still coated from a recent ice storm.  With the warm air and the afternoon sun, some of the ice was melting.  As a result, sections of the forest “rained” broken ice.  It made for some pretty scenery too.


Freshly broken ice on the ground


The sun shines through icy trees

View
We had a clear day and nice weather, so the visibility from the cliffs was perfect.  I would still take Tinker Cliffs over McAfee’s Knob any day.


Rocks and Ridges


The Cliffs


Evergreens in the Mix

More Links
Kevin Myatt’s Article on the Andy Layne Trail for the Roanoke Times
More pictures of my Tinker Cliff hike on Flickr

Entry filed under: Andy Layne Trail, Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Tinker Cliffs, Tinker Mountain, Tony Airaghi. Tags: .

Obsolete Freedoms links for 2008-02-11

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  February 12, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    That backlit ice tree shot is incredible!

    Reply
  • 2. Katie  |  February 13, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    On one of my very first hikes, I was a mere 21, and went out mainly with people 10+ years older than me. Despite my lack of hiking experience, I assumed I’d be able to keep up. I was so wrong! I couldn’t keep up with anyone, and was particularly discouraged by my friend, Geoff, who at 33, and 40 lbs over weight, chain smoked his way to the top of the hill before anyone else! These days I can usually keep up, but I have no problem being last to the top – either because I’m slow, or because I’m keeping a slower hiker company. Definitely not worth killing yourself over!

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  February 13, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    @geekhiker – Thanks! It wasn’t one of my favorites, but I believe it was the only picture in that set to get a comment on Flickr, so that qualified it for “Blog Privleges”. 🙂

    @Katie – Oooh! You reminded me of a story. The first time I went lap swimming it was with two overweight, out of shape smokers. Before getting in the pool I looked over my companions and thought, “This should be a piece of cake, I jog, I hike, I rollerblade”

    Welp, turns out swimming is an entirely different animal. I was dismayed and embarassed that I was the first one to take a break.

    (I’m a little better at lap swimming now though.)

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  February 13, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    @geekhiker – Oh whoops– I lied. I checked Flickr and two other pictures were commented on. Nevermind.

    Reply
  • 5. Happy 11th Birthday Jimmie! « TGAW  |  April 15, 2008 at 12:06 am

    […] Tinker Cliffs […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


