They Might Be Giants at 9:30 Club

February 7, 2008 at 9:35 am 2 comments

Whoops– after 2+ months, I still never published this post about a They Might Be Giants concert in *November* My sister wants to read it, so here we go:

My sister did a very detailed recap of the concert on her blog. How detailed? Why, very detailed. She even covered our visit to the bar before the band went on:

Vicky looked at a menu, but didn’t want anything. We talked about tampons and yeast infections and all sorts of stuff like that. Kipp talked about his upcoming trip with Casey to Spain, and his past trip to Iceland with Julie.

Yup, every They Might Be Giants fan scouring the Internet wondering whether or not I ordered food can rest easy. 🙂

Anyway, because Carolyn was so thorough, I just have a few addendums.

Project Runway!!!!
The band made a Project Runway reference! When they first came out, they did the typical interaction with the audience.

TMBG: We are so excited to be here in Washington, D.C….
(Crowd cheers)
TMBG: Performing here at the 9:30 Club
(Crowd cheers)
TMBG: …And we are really excited about the new season of Project Runway
(Vicky cheers)

Energy Level
Carolyn’s blog covered the energy level of the audience:

Speaking of annoying, I was also annoying because I was singing along and dancing, and it didn’t seem like the people around me were dancing all that much. Vicky also mentioned that the energy level was really low in the audience. Oh well.

When I first mentioned the energy level to Carolyn, it was really an observation. But the more I think about it, the more disappointed I am. I go to concerts for the crowd energy. I expect to jump around. I expect to dance and I expect to get terribly sweaty and nasty. But that didn’t happen. Very few people moved at all. At times I would look up at the balconies and see a bunch of stone-faced fans watching as still as they could be.

And I think it is the band to attribute this to. At the beginning of the show, they gave the crowd a lecture– saying if they saw people pushing or shoving they were going to stop the show altogether. Between that announcement, a lot of the talking comedy bits, and the extended erratic jamming, they really didn’t command the audience to move.

Now their performance was solid and interesting enough. But compare them to Gogol Bordello. Both bands sports eight+ performers. Both bands have very eccletic instrumentation– heck both bands feature an accordion! But the energy levels of both shows were complete opposites.

As fond as I am of They Might Be Giants, in the years to come, it will be the Gogol Bordello show that will stand the most firm in my memory.

Entry filed under: Gogol Bordello, Music, Project Runway, They Might Be Giants, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Special Guest Star on House Man vs. Girls Gone Wild

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie  |  February 9, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    I agree – the more energy in the crowd, the better. My most disappointing experience was seeing Cake at MIT. There I think the problem was with the crowd and the venue, rather than with the band, MIT is a strange, strange place.

    Reply
  • 2. Aaron  |  February 12, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    Sounds like a few more folks need to build a birdhouse in their soul.😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


