Lent ’08

February 6, 2008 at 9:38 am 3 comments

Yikes. Lent snuck up on me this year– I didn’t realize it started this week until Monday when I noticed Mardi Gras decorations up at the local Cajun restaurant. This year I’m giving up two things:

  • Red Meat
  • Text Messaging While Driving

Red meat builds off Lent ’06 where I gave up beef. Text messaging while driving has no precedence, but it is a bad habit I should definitely curb.

For the last 4 years, desserts have always been on the list. This means this year I can actually have cake on my birthday. Others may benefit as well. Apparently my giving up desserts presents a hardship to my loved ones. A couple of years ago, I called my mother one morning.

“Hey Mom, I have a question for ya.”

“Oh gawd,” she groaned, “Are you trying to decide if a pancake is a dessert again?”

My question was not related to Lent at all, but her reaction certainly said a lot about our past conversations. 🙂

Entry filed under: Lent, Mom. Tags: .

links for 2008-02-04 Special Guest Star on House

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  February 6, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Text-messaging while driving should definitely be illegal.

    Reply
  • 2. Chriggy  |  February 6, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Yeah, text messaging while driving = BAD! You should give that up permanently, not just for lent.

    Reply
  • 3. Easiest Lent Ever « TGAW  |  March 28, 2008 at 10:51 am

    […] 28, 2008 Well, it turns out Lent 2008 was my easiest Lent ever.  The leap to giving up red meat wasn’t as difficult as I had […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


