Things You Can Do With Lots of Balls

January 19, 2008 at 11:43 am 6 comments

Circa 2006, this comic about defining what it means to be a grownup appeared on xkcd.


xkcd’s “Grownups”

The comic inspired an online calculator to determine how many playpen balls you would need to fill your apartment (The first floor of my house would require 105,845 balls and cost over $20,000). One, Mike Machenry, felt inspired by the strip and constructed a ball pit in his own home. Then xkcd author, Randall Munroe, followed suit with his own ball pit.

Turns out, plastic colored balls don’t have to be confined to interior design. You can take them outside… and use them to protest.


News reports on the balls protest in Rome


See the balls in action

And here I was just using balls to throw like a sucker.  I have so little imagination. 🙂

Entry filed under: playpen balls, xkcd. Tags: .

links for 2008-01-17 Moving Old Glory

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HokieTT  |  January 19, 2008 at 11:59 am

    That’s a pretty ballsy stunt.

    Reply
  • 2. Ogre... okay, Jeff. I'll grow up now.  |  January 19, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    OMG!

    I have a spare room in my townhouse.

    I totally need to cordon off part of it and make my own ballpit, this totally rules!

    Reply
  • 3. HokieTT  |  January 20, 2008 at 10:22 am

    ‘ballpit’ sounds like something you’d have to buy deodorant for.

    Reply
  • 4. Jeff  |  January 20, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    I hope so!

    I mean, I’ll be inviting people over to play with my balls, I hope to get all hot and sweaty.

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  January 21, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    It’s so sad, how many jokes came into my head reading this post. Yeup, boys really never do get out of Jr. High, I suppose. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Aaron  |  January 22, 2008 at 8:07 am

    That’s brilliant.

    My imagination sucks!😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


