He Can Still Dance, Baby!

January 10, 2008 at 7:02 pm 11 comments

As I’ve mentioned before, many members of my extended family LOVE to dance…even when our skill set struggles.  Now, there wasn’t an official dance floor at the reception on Saturday and no one else was dancing.  But that did not stop the groom!  Having the blood he has, he found it difficult to stay still.  Here are some shots of him dancing alone:


Mark dances alone


Mark continues to dance alone


Determination!

The determination of groom’s face reminds me of Ricky Gervais’ dance sequence from the The Office (U.K.):


Ricky Gervais– a younger Uncle Mark?

And in case you haven’t seen Ricky Gervais’ dancing skill set, here is his performance on YouTube.  He makes the Sawyers look especially talented!

Entry filed under: Mark Sawyer, Ricky Gervais, The Office, Wedding. Tags: .

Recycled Dresses links for 2008-01-11

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    hah. that’s the most UK office I’ve ever seen. I see it succeeds in the same “awkward comedy” feel of the American one. They spoofed it on … Family Guy(?) at some point. A british sports team needed to be pepped up, so the coach (Peter Griffen? Homer Simpson? American Dad? I don’t remember) showed the british people the american office, and they all got mad. “They’re spelling it out!”

    Reply
  • 2. HokieTT  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    The American The Office was blunt early on, but they’ve nailed it now. They are starting to have to get a little crazy with the storylines now, though.

    The best part of the British one was if you didn’t get a joke, they just kept going. They didn’t care.

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  January 10, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I generally prefer an American remake of anything better than the original. But I have all the UK episodes (first 4 seasons at least?) and plan to watch them SOMEday.

    But I do “Get” things more if they are in my own culture.

    For instance, there are TWO english versions of the anime Super Milk Chan around. Netflix has both. The straight-dub is UN-FRIGGIN-FUNNY. *TERRIBLE* SHOW. The Americanized-rewrite-dub is HILARIOUS. Even Stacy M loved it, and I don’t think he watches a lot of cartoons. Almost everyone who watched it at my place thought it was amazingly funny. All the hardcore cartoon fans did…

    Just 1 example. I’m feeling type-y today.

    Reply
  • 4. HokieTT  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:05 am

    British humor is really hit or miss with me. Some of it is quite good (Monty Python, The Office) and some of it, I don’t get at all (Absolutely Fabulous, Benny Hill, Mr. Bean). I think the thing about the British The Office is that it still connects in that the office environments are startlingly similar to our own, as are the subtlety of reactions and facial expressions.

    Reply
  • 5. Scott  |  January 11, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I use to watch Monty Python and Absolutely Fabulous and thought they were good. I am not a fan of Benny Hill and can only take so much of Mr. Bean. I have never see the UK Office, but I sure love our version!

    Reply
  • 6. Clint  |  January 11, 2008 at 11:26 am

    I don’t know how anyone (especially non-straightedge people) could hate AbFab!!!!🙂

    British humor is definitely more “dry”. I only recently realized that *MOST* humor is dry, and I just hadn’t been noticing it. Previously, I thought that most humor was in-your-face, and dry humor composed a minority.

    Mr. Bean can be pretty damn funny, but I don’t know about large doses. The Mr. Bean movie was AWFUL.

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  January 11, 2008 at 11:34 am

    I don’t remember much of AbFab and The Young Ones. BUT, I love all that is Ricky Gervais.

    Back in 2001ish, I was in London and my last night, I caught a stand-up comedy special with this guy I never heard of on “Animals”. It was the best stand-up comedy special I had seen in years and I made sure to get out of bed and write down the comedian’s name (And the routine got noted in my journal later). That comedian was Ricky Gervais. I love The Office, I absolutely, absolutely adore Extras and his PodCasts can be freaking hilarious as well.

    Though, I do have to mention– I don’t think I would like hanging out with Ricky Gervais in real life. Watching the Deleted Scenes on the The Office DVD makes me suspect— he can get a little annoying in real life. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. tgaw  |  January 11, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Whoops, my bad, I got my London trips confused (If only we all could have such issues!). It was *2005* where I first got exposed to Ricky Gervais. Here is my journal excerpt from 29 Jan 2005

    -=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

    Last night I saw a hilarious comedian by the name of Ricky Gervais. He had a ~1 1/2 hour special on “Animals”. It was probably the best stand up comedy special I’ve seen in years. Very well done – I’m going to see if he is available in the states.

    One bit I liked was him talking about cable. His cable was more endowed than the cable I had in all my hotels. He had 95 channels (me I had 4 in The Grange and 15 in the Holiday Inn).

    “It’s all rubbish,” he said, but then noted that he liked the Discovery Channel and the History Channel.

    “Sharks and Nazis,” he said, “Ask me anything! I know it now!”

    Since the theme of the show was “Animals”– he elaborated on the sharks and how they can feel the slightest motion in the water and how they could smell the slightest human excrement for up to a mile.

    “A mile!” he exclaimed, “Sharks would have found Anne Frank like that!” and he snapped his fingers.

    It’s not necessarily a funny subject, Anne Frank and the Holocaust, but Ricky Gervais pulled it off.

    Reply
  • 9. Clint  |  January 11, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Oh, The Young Ones! The live-action show that may as well be a cartoon due to how they do not limit themselves to the “possible” in the slightest bit (one of the things I love about animated shows). Talking mice? Check. Atom bomb in your house? Check. Guest bands?!?! Check! (?????). I love that show so much. I don’t know anyone who’s watched it who isn’t crazy about it.

    Punk rock Vivian is awesome, Hippie Neal is awesome, Whiny Anarchist Rick is awesome, and even Way-Too-Overconfident-For-His-Height Mike is awesome. They make up a nuclear family: Neal=Mom/Marge, Mike=Dad/Homer, Rick=girl/Lisa, Vivian=boy/bart.

    And Rick from Young Ones was sampled in a Primus song! (“You just called me a bastard!”)

    Reply
  • 10. Carolyn  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Don’t forget Fawlty Towers.

    Reply
  • 11. Clint  |  January 11, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Oh yea. Fawlty Towers! Just about the best thing John Cleese ever did outside of Monty Python!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


