Recycled Dresses

January 9, 2008 at 12:35 am 5 comments

Packing for Mark and Denise’s Wedding, I went through my closet and tried to find an appropriate dress. I could go down the line and cite a family wedding (Adam, Carolyn, Andrew) or another family event for each dress… except for two. One was Stacy‘s groomsman dress, which didn’t seem fitting to wear again so soon. The other one was a dress that I wore in 1999 at Brian and Jodi‘s wedding. No family was there. It still fit, so there we go!

I show up at the wedding and my sister also recycled a dress. Her selection criteria was apparently more liberal than mine. She did wear a dress people had seen before– the dress she wore to her own wedding! 🙂


Me recycling a dress from 1999, Carolyn recycling a dress from 2000

With over fifty people in our extended family, and a number of unmarried cousins, I suspect this is just the very beginning of our recycling effort.

Entry filed under: Carolyn L, fashion. Tags: .

Mark and Denise’s Wedding He Can Still Dance, Baby!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  January 9, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I think wearing something twice scarcely counts as “recycling”🙂 I mean… if any item of clothing is worn less than 25 times, it’s a waste!🙂

    I suppose Carolyn would have been noticed more if she wore a wedding-dress-style dress, haha.

    Reply
  • 2. Sour Swinger  |  January 9, 2008 at 9:04 am

    Would have to agree with Clint. If your not wearing something more then once, you’re simply wasting your money on clothes.

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  January 9, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Heh. If I have to wear it 25 times for it to not be a waste and I continue my pace of wearing once every 8 years, then I’ll be wearing this dress until I’m 216 years old. Better step it up.

    And with you, Sour Swinger, I’ll make you a deal. You wear that suit and get a date in Pittsburg, then *I* will wear this same dress at *your* wedding! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  January 9, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I love the math!

    Reply
  • 5. Sour Swinger  |  January 9, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    @tgaw
    WHAT?!?! Its hard enough for me to even land a date, let alone land one at a fancy enough restaurant to wear my suit. I just hope I don’t end up like Great Uncle Chuck. LoL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


