Mark and Denise’s Wedding

January 8, 2008 at 11:28 pm 4 comments

Last Saturday, Sean and I attended my Uncle Mark’s wedding in Rockville, Maryland! Now, having been a groomsman in a wedding, I’m no spring chicken to nuptials, but this wedding offered me a couple of things I hadn’t seen before:

Dual Officiants
A Catholic priest who taught my uncle in school and a Methodist minister from Pennsylvania both participated in the wedding. Mark and Denise also had a soloist come down from Pennsylvania to participate.

Pink Dress
My sister got married in blue velvet, so I’ve been there done that. But I’ve never seen pink. For her second wedding, my new Aunt Denise selected a nice pink garment. The dress was so pretty that when I saw Denise at the reception wearing a black dress I was surprised she decided to change. It turns out, I wasn’t looking at Denise at the reception at all. I was looking at her identical twin sister!


Denise (in pink dress) puts a ring on Mark’s finger

Offspring Wedding Party
The best man was my Mark’s youngest son (my cousin Jordan) and the maid of honor was Denise’s youngest daughter (Samantha). Having Jordan and Samantha up there was particularly amusing when Mark fumbled around when the Catholic priest asked if he and his wife would raise their children as Catholics.

“We will…er.. We have…er… We did.”


Best Man Jordan and Maid of Honor Samantha laugh at Mark

The Fastest Kiss
Now, I was all prepared to take a picture of the kiss, but it was over so quickly, I never got a shot. I lack official metrics, but I think this was the fastest wedding kiss I’ve seen.


The only kiss shot I got to take.

The reception was great fun! With the exception of Stephen’s family (I’m told they hit a deer on the way), all branches of the Sawyer family were represented, so we had another family reunion!

If you recall, our last family reunion took place in Bethany Beach, Delaware in August. There were some marked differences between the August Reunion and this reunion.

1) No Kayak Flipping and Pranks
Frank and Jordan did not get a chance to wake each other in the middle of the night or body slam each other in jellyfish-infested waters. But they did work in some arm wrestling.


Jordan takes on Frank

2) No Emergency Room Visits
When I first saw Kim without her kids at the wedding ceremony, I thought she strategically left them behind in Colorado to keep them safe. 🙂 But her children were in town and appeared at the reception. Chase did not have to get any stitches this time, but I did catch Frank picking on him a bit.


Frank messes with Chase

3) No Pee!
I noted my youngest cousin getting a lot of piggyback rides and I also noted that not once did she accept a dare and pee on her provider!


Frank not getting peed on!!!

4) Adam!!!!
Mark’s oldest son, Adam, is home safe and sound from Iraq!!! It was great to see him again and seeing him interact with his lovely wife and his cute little boys! Adam’s presence was troublesome to some, however. It turns out a lot of our relatives have as much trouble telling Adam and Jordan apart as I did with Denise and her twin sister. 🙂


Adam’s Back! (With oldest son Ryan)

The wedding was a splendid time! More pictures from Mark and Denise’s Wedding can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Adam Sawyer, Frank, J Gerard Sawyer, Mark Sawyer, Wedding. Tags: .

The Wild Trees Recycled Dresses

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Recycled Dresses « TGAW  |  January 9, 2008 at 12:35 am

    […] 9, 2008 Packing for Mark and Denise’s Wedding, I went through my closet and tried to find an appropriate dress. I could go down the line and cite […]

    Reply
  • 2. Sour Swinger  |  January 9, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    So you finally exposed who the peeing cousin was…thought you wanted to keep that on the down low. Is that phrase even used any more “on the down low”?

    Ryan’s ears are really distinctive in that picture. Adam’s trademark symbol.:)

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  January 9, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    @Sour Swinger– Hey I still did not say the offender’s name on this blog…. yet. 🙂

    Also– I think “on the down low” is still used. NOFX had a song on their 2006 album (“Wolves in Wolves Clothing”) called “Getting High on the Down Low”.

    You are right about Adam’s trademark– that and his brown eyes may be exactly why Ryan looks like a minature Adam to me.

    Reply
  • 4. Sour Swinger  |  January 9, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    @tgaw
    LoL. Short of actually saying the name, you pretty much pointed the finger at who the peeing cousin was.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


