Nerd Squad!

January 3, 2008 at 9:40 am 11 comments

After Christmas, some of my closest high school classmates all convened in the Washington, D.C. area:

  • Christina came in from Germany with her husband, her nephew and her young son
  • Alex came in from Washington State
  • Brian came in from Texas
  • and then Stacy made the grueling trek from his new home in Chantilly, Virginia.πŸ™‚

As for me, after Christmas I made my way to my parents house, so I can spend some time having a mini-reunion with my friends.

When I told my brother my plans, he laughed.

“Ahahaha, the Nerd Squad!” he declared.

At first, I think I was a little appalled at the term because I promptly ran to Brian to tattle on what my brother had said.

“Jay called us the nerd squad!!!!”

Brian paused thoughtfully and then said, “Yeah. That sounds about right.”

And you know what? I think we did live up to the name. Here are some of the antics the “Nerd Squad” got into.

  • Watched YouTube videos (such as The Office’s The More You Know series, Man Knocks Himself Out with a Log, Prank Gone Wrong) and shared our favorite xkcd comics.
  • Spent an evening troubleshooting my parent’s LinkSys router so we could have wireless.
  • Test drove trikes at a local bike store.

    Me (foreground) and Alex (background) riding trikes
  • Spent a lot of time playing with our various electronics including Brian’s iPhone and Alex’s iPod Touch. I spent a lot of time on my LG enV, but I failed to make them jealous.
    Me taking pictures for Flickr. Alex plays with my LG enV while his iPod Touch sits nearby. My laptop is in the background. It’s on the wireless network, of course.
  • Spent a day at the Udvar-Hazy Center near Dulles. I think that in itself is not too nerdy, but we did spend an awful lot of time taking pictures of an old keyboard and marveling about how a computer with 128 kb of memory could be in use into the 1990s.

    Old keyboard– It doesn’t have an @ sign. The horror!

Now, we did do some things that were decidedly unnerdy. We had a delicious lunch at Siam-Classic (Christina’s Mother’s restaurant in Manassas) and Saturday evening, I did spend an evening with Christina’s family watching the Patriots win their last regular season game. Hmm… Christina seems to be the catalyst for non-nerd adventures.πŸ™‚

Nerds or not, I very much enjoyed seeing my old classmates. I was quite sad Sunday when we all started to part ways and I had to drive home to Blacksburg. Actually, I’m still a bit sad. I had so much fun seeing everyone.

Entry filed under: Alex Moskwa, Brian N, Christina G, Jay, Stacy McMahon. Tags: .

Gogol Bordello in NYC Why is this Guy Still Friends With Me?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  January 3, 2008 at 9:44 am

    I think spending Saturday night with a friends’ parents still falls into the nerd category. As does spelling squad “Squard” HAHAHAAHaπŸ˜›πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  January 3, 2008 at 9:50 am

    @Clint – It wasn’t her parents. It was her husband, her brother, her nephew and and her baby.

    Also– spelling error corrected.

    Reply
  • 3. Why is this Guy Still Friends With Me? « TGAW  |  January 3, 2008 at 10:10 am

    […] 3, 2008 During our Nerd Squad outings, I managed to injure Brian N yet again. This has become a lifelong pattern. Here are three […]

    Reply
  • 4. Carolyn  |  January 3, 2008 at 10:42 am

    spelling doesn’t look corrected to me.πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  January 3, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Ha! I misspelled it in more than one place!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. geekhiker  |  January 4, 2008 at 1:07 am

    First off, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, tgaw! πŸ˜€

    My Dad and I spent the holiday shopping for a new laptop for my Mom, debating brands, touchpad location, and the like. I think I would like the nerd squad, but are geeks and nerds allowed to co-mingle?

    Reply
  • 7. sheerpanic  |  January 4, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Merry Christmas, happy new year, and try not to maim Brian..πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 8. Christina G  |  January 8, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Great post. I wish I coulda hung out with the geek squad longer! Next time, my place!

    Reply
  • 9. Christina G  |  January 8, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Oops, nerd squad, rather…πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 10. tgaw  |  January 8, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    @Christina G – Heh. I like “Geek Squad” better. Stupid Jay for not plagiarizing Best Buy!

    Reply
  • 11. Home at last! | an american expat in deutschland  |  January 9, 2008 at 6:03 am

    […] sorry that some comments have been sitting there for a week.Β  I do have some high school buddies (the nerd squad) lined up who will help me work out all the little wrinkles in the coding though, so things should […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


