Online Previews – Success and Failure

January 1, 2008 at 12:51 am 4 comments

This Christmas season, I had two encounters with preview tools for online orders. One was good. The other, not so good.

FedEx Kinkos
With all my travels, I was a bit behind on my Christmas card effort. So… using a font I made of my own handwriting a few years ago and some of my trusty Flickr pictures, I made a Christmas letter which I chose to print out at Kinkos. I uploaded a PDF to their website. At that point, I got to preview what the printout would look like. I was disappointed to see some of the pictures looked a little blurry, but decided to go for it.


The preview leads me to believe the printout will have flaws.

BUT, when I went to pick up the printouts, they were so gorgeous. Every picture was crisp and clear and the colors were so vivid. I was thrilled. Kinkos did a great job of exceeding my expectations.


The pictures were much clearer in the printout!

Shutterfly
With Shutterfly, I uploaded a family photo to make a jig-saw puzzle out of it. Shutterfly also provided an online preview tool and included the disclaimer “Your picture will be printed exactly as shown here.” In this case, the preview looked pretty satisfactory:


Preview– My picture will be printed exactly as shown.

But, when my product arrived, I found out “exactly as shown” was apparently up to interpretation.


Not exactly as shown.

The tin with the puzzle was even worse:


Also not exactly as shown

Whereas FedEx Kinko’s pleasantly surprised me, Shutterfly not so much.

Entry filed under: FedEx, Shutterfly. Tags: .

links for 2007-12-19 Gogol Bordello in NYC

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn  |  January 1, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    I think it’s funny that you used the one with the bunny ears..🙂

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  January 1, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    Heh Heh Heh. Well that one is far superior to all of the others.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  January 4, 2008 at 2:25 am

    Oh by the way, Shutterfly did give me credits to order a better puzzle. (Of course, I had to *suggest* that course of action– they didn’t volunteer it)

    Reply
  • 4. Open Source Holiday Letter « TGAW  |  January 27, 2009 at 8:03 am

    […] have now been extremely pleased by them two years in a row. They deliver impeccable work (last year they exceeded my expectations) and they have a great online interface. You get a full preview of your project with zoom in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


