Good Idea from the Bloomington Holiday Inn

December 2, 2007 at 1:10 am 6 comments

In 2005, I was traveling in Fort Washington, Pennsylvania when eight inches of snow fell overnight.  I woke up the next morning with a funeral to attend.  I got dressed, packed up all my clothes and went outside to discover that rental cars do not have ice scrapers.  I had to improvise.  In a nice skirt and decorative shoes, I stood out in the cold and scraped snow of my car using a Dasani water bottle.

Flash forward to 2007.  When Katie and I were in Logan Lake, there was an ice storm one night.  We found ourselves in a similiar situation with our rental car.  Again, water bottles were the most convenient tool.  (The Canadians subsequently told us that credit cards double nicely as scrapers).


Vicky and Katie scrap off a rental car with water bottles

Apparently I had told ZJ my ice scraper stories.  As we were checking in to the Bloomington Holiday Inn near the Minneapolis Airport this past week, ZJ got my attention and proudly pointed to a sign at the front desk:


The hotel has ice scrapers available for guest use

Awesome idea!  Kudos to whoever came up with that thoughtful amenity.

Entry filed under: ice scraper, Katie J, rental car, Travel, ZJ P. Tags: .

Outshined Favorite Love Songs

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  December 5, 2007 at 12:29 am

    These days, I’m surprised the hotel didn’t charge a “convenience fee” for the use of the ice scraper! LOL

    Reply
  • 2. Aaron  |  December 6, 2007 at 10:05 am

    They want’em back, though!

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  December 9, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    In Indiana, an ice storm allowed me to put the Canadians’ credit card suggestion to use. Well, sort of. I didn’t have the nerve to use an actual credit card. But I did use an old plastic hotel keycard. That worked quite well at getting the ice off my windshield.

    Reply
  • 4. Carolyn  |  December 10, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Last week, we had a coworker from Kansas City, MO who had traveled in for a week of training. When it snowed last week, he mentioned how his rental car didn’t have an ice scraper, so he used his room key.

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  December 10, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Yeah I would rank the “hotel keycard” being a lot more effective than “water bottle”. Though the water bottle excels at brushing off deep snow.

    Reply
  • 6. thehamster  |  October 26, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    An old CD or DVD that you no longer want also works in a pinch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


