Favorite Love Songs

December 2, 2007 at 5:49 pm 4 comments

In 1996, NOFX released the album, Heavy Petting Zoo, and I came across a love song I fancied.  It was called “Whatever Didi Wants” and I was fond of it not only for its catchy harmonies but because it portrayed a realistic love.  The guy was promising to do almost everything for the girl… but not everything.  Some things are just ridiculous…. like contracting dysentery.

I wouldn’t walk 500 miles
When I could fly coach
But almost anything
I wouldn’t swim across the Nile
Cause I could get
An amoebic dysentery

I would do almost anything for you…

In 2006, a new song, also by NOFX, emerged and ousted “Whatever Didi Wants” as my favorite love song.  It’s 34 seconds long, very catchy and uses bodily functions and scenarios you might find in Zobmondo to portray a young lover’s longing.  It’s “Instant Crassic” from Wolves in Wolves Clothing:

I’m swimming in a sea of pee
I’m hiking up a big mountain of poo
I feel like rolling in glass when I’m without you

I’m diving in a pool of puke
I’m fly fishing a stream of puss
That’s how I feel when something separates us

Well now, it appears NOFX’s 11 year reign is in jeopardy.  I’ve become quite smitten with this Jon Lajoie song which was inspired by 2 Girls 1 Cup (don’t worry– the video below is safe to watch).  This song is hilarious and probably too catchy for its own good.  I’ve already found myself singing it around the house.  Is that a good thing when I’m going on-site next week?  Probably not!

Entry filed under: 2Girls1Cup, Jon Lajoie, Music, NOFX. Tags: .

Good Idea from the Bloomington Holiday Inn Google Reader Knows Me Well

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  December 3, 2007 at 9:56 am

    video taken down already!🙂

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  December 3, 2007 at 9:59 am

    That’s unfortunate. I must have watched it five times off my own blog post last night.

    You can try going here instead:
    http://www.jonlajoie.com/video/2g1cs.php

    Reply
  • 3. Chriggy  |  December 3, 2007 at 10:51 am

    The video seems to be working fine now.

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  December 4, 2007 at 10:31 am

    Yeah, it is. And: haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


