Mine Wear

November 5, 2007 at 2:08 am 5 comments

So many little girls spend so much time daydreaming about their wedding dress or their prom dress, that they ignore the very important question:

“What will I wear on my first day at a mine site?”

Despite my faithful following of Project Runway (which now starts in NINE days!!!), I’ve had very little guidance on this subject.  And so, I’ve fumbled my way through dressing for three different mine visits– a coal mine, a copper mine and an iron mine.  Each one had its own missteps, which I’ll share now in descending order of disaster.

Coal Mine
My very first day at the coal mine, actually the very first minute there, I learned a valueable lesson.

“Khaki Pants and Coal Mines Do Not Mix”

As soon as I stepped out of the car, I brushed against the door and promptly stained my pants with coal dust.  Those pants are still stained.  Though, I continue to wear them (I plan on acting surprised if anyone points it out).

Copper Mine
Remembering my experience at the coal mine, the very first day at Logan Lake I left the khaki pants folded in my suitcase.  Instead, I selected black slacks.  And again a hard lesson from the parking lot– all the dust at the copper mine is WHITE and it just loves black fabrics.

Iron Mine
With the iron mine, I didn’t really run into any huge issues with colors (its dust was a neutral orange).  But I will say, I felt awfully out of place that first day when I wore a nice pink blouse with a matching pink Bowman Handbag.   It didn’t seem to fit in with all the hardhats and overalls. 🙂

So here, as a useful reference for all little girls who dream of growing up and visiting mines, I present a graphical summary of this post:

Entry filed under: mine, Project Runway. Tags: .

Whatever It Takes! links for 2007-11-05

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  November 5, 2007 at 9:37 am

    that’s funny how lessons learned from the first mine worked against you in the 2nd mine🙂

    is this mine, or yours?

    Reply
  • 2. www.topweddingadvice.info » Mine Wear  |  November 5, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    […] tgaw created an interesting post today on Mine Wear.Here’s a short outline:So many little girls spend so much time daydreaming about their wedding dress or their prom dress, that they ignore the very important question:. “What will I wear on my first day at a mine site?” Despite my faithful following of … […]

    Reply
  • 3. geekhiker  |  November 6, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Heh. I’m a master of random knowledge and I learned something new here today.

    So, being in California, I have to ask: any advice for a gold mine, should I happen upon one? 😉

    Reply
  • 4. HokieTT  |  November 6, 2007 at 2:00 pm

    geekhiker: In a gold mine, I recommend cargo pants. Lots of pockets.

    Reply
  • 5. Dairy Footwear « TGAW  |  August 13, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    […] 13, 2008 Last fall I did a quick cheat-sheet to business casual mine wear, so one would know to avoid khaki pants at say… a coal […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


