Twin Falls

October 22, 2007 at 12:27 am 8 comments

On Saturday, I got to do my first hike in the Pacific Northwest!  And to make the experience official, we made the journey in the area’s famous rainy weather. 

We went to Twin Falls which is about 30 minutes from Seattle.  The hike was modest– a three mile round trip and a 500 foot elevation gain.  The scenery was just gorgeous.  I could be a bit biased– my favorite color is green and the hike provided a lot of it.  I was particularly taken with all the moss and ferns coating the trees.  Add that to beautiful waterfalls, mist and great company– the journey was enchanting.

And GeekHiker– I think I saw one of those nurse trees you spoke of! 


Moss and ferns coat the trunk of a tree


The falls from the observation deck


Evergreen ridgelines, some fog and a tree with moss.  Lots of GREEN!


Ferns and moss cover tree branches


A seasonal leaf caught in some mossy branches

More pictures from our Twin Falls Hike and my visit to Seattle can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Hiking, Travel, Twin Falls, Washington State. Tags: .

Gogol Bordello in Blacksburg Rollerblading – State #19

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SourSW  |  October 22, 2007 at 5:35 am

    Those pictures are beautiful. It looks like something out of Lord of the Rings.

    Reply
  • 2. hdw  |  October 22, 2007 at 8:10 am

    OK, I’m jealous.

    Here I am sitting in SW Virginia thinking of my home state of Washington, and you’re there.

    Seriously jealous.

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  October 22, 2007 at 8:50 am

    @SourSW – Heh, why am I not surprised that your analogy involved the Ring Trilogy? 🙂 And now my mind wanders and I wonder if my boss can find me important business in New Zealand.

    @hdw – We’re even– well, almost. Your Mountain Lake pictures (http://highdesertwanderer.com/archives/1004) are beautiful!!! I think I’m missing the peak of the fall leaves. It’s a shame that the lake is still so low.

    Reply
  • 4. HokieTT  |  October 22, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Looks really nice. Hopefully you’ll want to go back someday so I can see it, too.

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  October 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Beautiful photos! The ferns growing on the tree picture is amazing. I’m very jealous of you hiking up in Seattle right now!

    Those nurse logs are amazing, aren’t they?

    Reply
  • 6. Sheer  |  October 31, 2007 at 2:44 am

    quack, and that’s gorgeous.. I lived in Seattle for a few years recently.. actually just flew back up to do power for a rave in a abandoned train tunnel near Stephen’s Pass and was yet again astonished at how lovely it is up there. Also, synchronistically, I went to NZ this year because we have a offshore development firm there working on part of my latest big software project. (Well, not mine really, but the one that I’ve been putting in the most hours on).

    Reply
  • 7. links for 2008-04-08 « TGAW  |  April 8, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    […] This organization near Seattle has writing hikes once a month, including Twin Falls (where I went in Sept) (tags: hiking […]

    Reply
  • 8. Cougar Mountain – Overview « TGAW  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:01 am

    […] – General In September 2007, I had the privilege of another hike in Washington State – Twin Falls. Just like the hike four years ago, I was smitten with the prevalence of my favorite color. The […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


