Prejudice Doesn’t Pay

October 15, 2007 at 11:33 pm 9 comments

The last two evenings have closed with me watching the famed Leeroy Jenkins battle on YouTube and laughing.  Before yesterday, I didn’t even know who Leeroy Jenkins was. 

How did I miss such an old and wide-spread Internet phenomenon?  Prejudice!  I’m biased against video games, thanks to their habit of sucking entire days of my life away.  It’s been almost a decade, but I still feel the sting with how fleeting my reign on the Wetrix Top Ten Board was in our apartment.  I spent days taking the entire list over.  Ryan Schutt eradicated me within a few hours and didn’t even break a sweat.  That memory of my own futility was so persistant that even when Discover Magazine pointed out the benefits of video games, my stereotypes stood firm.

And so, I’m certain when Leeroy Jenkins first found his way to me, I took one look at all those players strategizing, rolled my eyes and thought, “What the hell is this crap?!?” before closing the window.

And look at what laughter my bigoted ways deprived me.

At least I have chicken.

Entry filed under: Leeroy Jenkins, prejudice, Ryan Schutt. Tags: .

COUNTDOWN TO GOGOL BORDELLO! links for 2007-10-16

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scott  |  October 16, 2007 at 6:36 am

    I have watched it many times and it never gets old. Thanks for starting my day with a good laugh.

    Reply
  • 2. HokieTT  |  October 16, 2007 at 7:20 am

    “repeating, of course”. Because we really needed to know the odds of success to the thousandth of a percent and beyong.

    NERRRRRDS!

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  October 16, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Hate to be a naysayer, but I think there are much funnier WoW clips out there. (Though nothing as funny as the WoW south park episode!)

    I’ve seen that one before but don’t find it particularly funny. Geeks plan something out, guy storms in recklessly, it’s a 15-second chuckle with a 2 minute warmup.. Though I guess it’s all subjective.

    now THIS is funny:

    A person that played WoW died in real life, so the persons friends in WoW decide to have a funeral for him/her. But a guild full of nothing but assholes decides to invade the funeral kill everyone there, very sad group of people. This happend on the Illidan PvP server a few months ago.

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8864198756602438312&q=so+we+pwned+this+funeral&total=1&start=0&num=10&so=0&type=search&plindex=0

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  October 16, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Ooh. I hate to naysay your naysay, but I still found the Leeroy video to be funnier. I think it is the conversation of all Leeroy’s companions that really gets to me, not the actual slaughter.

    BUT– the funeral video has an amazingly superb selection in music!!!! A Misfits song AND a Mozart song! Pretty cool combo.

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  October 16, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    And now you have reminded me how I aspire to one day see a live performance of Mozart’s Requiem.

    Reply
  • 6. geekhiker  |  October 17, 2007 at 12:42 am

    “At least I have chicken.”

    Next time I screw up something at work, I’m going to say exactly that, turn on my heel, and stride confidently out of the room. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. gaugeyagee  |  October 17, 2007 at 9:44 am

    I have a rumor, though on somewhat good authority, that the Leeroy Jenkins video was all set up! In other words, they were “performing” a skit to make it look like this guy ruined their raid. Apparently it was made by the guys over at http://www.somethingawful.com

    Plus having played WOW and hearing some of what they were saying, like “Why do you ALWAYS do this?” In a raid guild in WOW, if it ever gets to that point, the repeat offender is usually kicked out of the guild.

    And the calculation for their chances of survival? I’ve never heard any guilds do that either, though it is pretty funny. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  September 17, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    I got one for you:

    http://punditkitchen.com/2008/07/28/political-pictures-tour-france-leeroy-jenkins/

    Reply
  • 9. tgaw  |  September 17, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    @Clint – Heh heh heh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


