Oktoberfest at Mountain Lake

October 14, 2007 at 4:37 pm 4 comments

My friend Mandy had some Oktoberfest tickets she couldn’t use, so last night Ann and I took Penn to the festivities at Mountain Lake.  The event featured a biergarten, traditional German food and the Sauerkraut Band.

When we first stood in line for the buffet, it dawned on me that this was a disaster waiting to happen.  Penn’s a picky eater, a very picky eater.  And although the entrees sounded delicious to me, I could easily see how the likes of beets, sauerkraut, purple cabbage and smoked salmon would be less than appealing to Penn.  He was particularly disturbed by the roasted pig.  The devoured meat exposed the pig’s spine, meanwhile the pig’s head was still in tact.  Penn stared and had a lot of concern about the pig’s eyeballs.


This pig did not help Penn’s appetite

Luckily, Penn found one of the German sausages edible.  Though when he had eaten about half and suddenly asked, “Where does sausage come from?” I was very nervous to tell him “pigs”.  That knowledge didn’t make a difference to Penn, he continued to ingest his dinner.

A local bakery in Christiansburg has a sign that says, “Life is Uncertain, Eat Dessert First”.  I didn’t adopt the sentiment verbatim, but when I passed by the pastry bar and saw the inventory dwindling, I made sure to snag a piece of cake right away.  I balanced it on my two plates of food and carried it back.


Evidence of foresight– Cake!

Later Ann asked Penn to get a dessert from the bar.  He came back carrying a plate of crumbs (literally).  That was all that was left.  I was so very proud of my foresight and was eager to share my bounty and be the hero of the group.  Alas, Mountain Lake did eventually replenish the dessert table.  At least I can still snicker at those who had to wait ten extra minutes for their cake.  Suckers! 

Even though the meal started out shaky for Penn, he ended up having a fabulous time.  The Sauerkraut Band was a big hit.  He enjoyed clapping along, toasting his Sprite when the adults toasted and he seemed particularly enamoured with watching a little girl dance.  Later, the event took on another level of excitement when Penn discovered a number of children playing billiards upstairs.


Penn claps along to the Sauerkraut Band


Little Penn toasts his Sprite


The Sauerkraut Band

In the buffet line, I fully expected the evening would end with Penn driving our departure time.  In the end, it was Ann and I, the old fogies, who had to drag Penn home!

More pictures from Mountain Lake’s Oktoberfest can be found on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Mountain Lake, Oktoberfest, Penn. Tags: .

Man’s Humanity to Man COUNTDOWN TO GOGOL BORDELLO!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ChristinaG  |  October 15, 2007 at 1:42 am

    The pig looks authentic, but Oktoberfest ended back on the 7th! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. tgaw  |  October 15, 2007 at 6:59 am

    Ahaha! I guess Mountain Lake is chasing the mighty profit. Their event happens every weekend in October!

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  October 20, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    Great photo of the Sauerkraut band!

    Reply
  • 4. Mountain Lake No More « TGAW  |  September 3, 2008 at 10:55 am

    […] I head up to the top of Salt Pond Mountain pretty regularly for hikes. Then add special events like Oktoberfest in the mix and I’ve been up there a quite a bit. So…over the years, exactly how many […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


