COUNTDOWN TO GOGOL BORDELLO!

October 14, 2007 at 8:45 pm 6 comments

On Thursday, I have tickets to go to see Gogol Bordello at Blacksburg’s reinnovated Lyric Theatre!  My brother gave me their Gypsy Punks – Underdog World Strike CD at Bethany Beach in August.  Since then I’ve become a little obsessed with the music.  It’s been in my XTerra almost continuously.  I made sure to rent “Everything is Illuminated” to see Eugene Hutz and the Super Taranta! CD is my current programming soundtrack. 

There are four days between me and the live performance, so here are four songs I’m looking forward to seeing (accompanied by the “best” sound-quality YouTube link I could find so you could at least hear what I’m talking about).

4. Start Wearing Purple (Gypsy Punks – Underdog World Strike)
How can you not enjoy the energy of this song?!?  I’m also quite fond of the long violin note after the second verse.


This is the band’s video for Start Wearing Purple

3. American Wedding (Super Taranta!)
The very first grown up wedding I went to, I was psyched.  “I’m going to eat steak and dance!” I told my co-workers.  I showed up and the wedding was not what I expected.  The reception was in the basement of a church.  It had no dancing or fine dining.  Instead it offered card tables, potato chips and Pepsi.  So I can empathize with one being surprised at marital traditions.

Have you ever been to American wedding?
Where is the vodka, where’s marinated herring?
Where is the supply that gonna last three days?
Where is the band that like Fanfare.
Gonna keep it goin’ 24 hours


Footage of a live performance from Toronto

2.  Tribal Connection (Super Taranta!)
Well, I of course love the refrain “No Can Do This, No Can Do That, What the Hell Can You Do, My Friend?”.  It’s so much fun to sing.  But it is a line near the end of the song that really seals the deal for me. 

We’re gonna turn frustration into inspiration

It makes me think of Alfred Hitchcock and the stem cell researchers.


This is a neat slideshow of pictures of the band

1. Illumination (Gypsy Punks – Underdog World Strike)
I love absolutely everything about this song.  The intro makes me think of Flight of the Conchords.  I love when he’s singing about a different culture, he goes from “It’s them who do not think the same” to “It’s them who do not think.”  How often has the same leap been made by one society towards another?  I love the chorus:

But we who see our destiny
In sound of this same old punk song
Let rest originality for sake of passing it around

It makes me think of the repetitiveness of oral traditions

And I adore the line, “You are the only light there is, for yourself my friend.”  It hits home because I think there are too many people out there who point externally for the causes of their unhappinesses and failures, when all along the obstacles are within themselves.


An Iraq war slideshow to the song

Anyway, I fully expect this week’s concert to be a blast!  Not much longer to wait now!

Entry filed under: Gogol Bordello. Tags: .

Oktoberfest at Mountain Lake Prejudice Doesn’t Pay

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. www.topweddingadvice.info » COUNTDOWN TO GOGOL BORDELLO!  |  October 15, 2007 at 10:49 am

    […] tgaw wrote a fantastic post today on “COUNTDOWN TO GOGOL BORDELLO!”Here’s ONLY a quick extractHave you ever been to American wedding? Where is the vodka, where’s marinated herring? Where is the supply that gonna last three days? Where is the band that like Fanfare. Gonna keep it goin’ 24 hours. Footage of a live performance from … […]

    Reply
  • 2. erin  |  October 19, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    The concert last night was absolutely amazing. If you have any pictures in addition to those on your flickr, I’d love to see them. I wasn’t able to bring a camera and am definitely regretting it.

    Reply
  • 3. Katie  |  October 20, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Sounds like I’ll have to look out for the album.

    Reply
  • 4. Katie  |  October 20, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Oh. and just read this review of their Boston concert.

    http://thephoenix.com/article_ektid49291.aspx

    I guess I missed out.😦

    Reply
  • 5. tgaw  |  October 21, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    @Erin– The pictures of mine not on Flickr are pretty out of focus. I could still send them along if you really want. However, I think you might like my friend Aaron’s pictures better. He got some great shots of the Baltimore show. Those are at:

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/aejonze/tags/gogolbordello

    Reply
  • 6. Countdown to Gogol Bordello (Again) « TGAW  |  May 29, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    […] May 29, 2008 Yay! It’s time for another Countdown to Gogol Bordello! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


