Catch Up – Wisconsin

September 30, 2007 at 11:27 pm 2 comments

This past week, I went up to Wisconsin for a business trip.  This is my fourth trip to the state and I continue to be struck by its beauty.  This trip was especially pretty– their leaves are just starting to turn! 

This time around, Larry and I were in La Crosse, Wisconsin near the Minnesota border.  We took a couple of hours one evening to drive around and explore.  We visited Grandad Bluff, a rocky outcropping that stands a whole 590′ over the city.  We also took a drive on Apple Blossom Scenic Drive in Minnesota. 


Marshes from Grandad Bluff


View (looking South) from Grandad Bluff


Sunset as we approach Minnesota


View from Apple Blossom Scenic Drive – the Mississippi and a moon rising

But, I didn’t have to go very far for the best view of the trip!  On our final morning, my alarm went off.  I thought about the obligations of my day and I was relunctant to rise.  But, I did get up.  I shuffled over to my window, opened the curtains and found a lovely view accompanied by a morning fog. 


View from my hotel room (through a screened-in window)

And suddenly, I was invigorated and ready for my day!  Coffee can’t compete with the energy this good earth gives me.  Nature is my favorite stimulant (apologies, soy lattes!) 

And with that happy note, it is time for bed.  As usual, more pictures of La Crosse, Wisconsin are available on my Flickr site.

Entry filed under: Travel, Wisconsin. Tags: .

Catch Up – Weekend of Sept 22nd links for 2007-10-02

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. geekhiker  |  October 2, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    Beautiful pictures. I guess I have another destination to add to my list!

    Reply
  • 2. Penn and Vicky’s Bear « TGAW  |  December 11, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    […] to admit I did not know that week existed until one Ryan Somma alerted me).  Of course, I was traveling most of that week, but on the very last day, I took five-year Penn out for a quick hike in celebration.  I choose […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


