Not So Camouflaged Humour

September 12, 2007 at 12:44 am 21 comments

Greetings from Wichita, Kansas!  In our social group, we often repeat lines from movies and TV Shows.  Lines from The Office, Seinfeld, Office Space, Super Bad, and a little bit of The Flight of the Conchords all make it into circulation.  The references are pretty fun and they don’t really get old.  Tonight I have two tales of repetitive humour that doesn’t age as well. 

In high school, my friend Jeremy decided to have a yard sale.  After posting a series of signs around his neighborhood, it started to rain so he had to move everything to the garage.  Parked in the garage was some classic, restored car that belonged to Jeremy’s father.  I can’t remember the make.  Anyway, throughout the day, Jeremy said a number of shoppers would come in and scope out the inventory and then make a joke, “How much for the [car]?  Heh heh heh.”

Jeremy reported that each comedian seemed rather pleased with his joke and had no idea that many, many others said the exact same thing earlier in the day.

And now I have a contemporary memory!  A couple of weeks ago, I used a Gap gift card to buy myself a pair of camouflaged pants.  This increases my already formidable inventory of drab green garments.  I am quite pleased with them and the ratio of the frequency I’ve worn them versus the frequency I’ve washed them may be disturbing to some readers.  So moving on…


New pants, pictured in a hotel bathroom in Wichita, Kansas

Almost instantly, Sean starting cracking jokes.  Stuff like, “Where are your legs?  I can’t see your legs.”  I figured it was Sean being Sean.

This past weekend, I went to Charlotte, North Carolina to visit friends and watch the LSU-VT slaughter.  There, a friend a whole 2 1/2 hours away, made a similiar comment about my pants.

So Monday, I fly to Wichita.  I’m 1000 miles away from home now.  I walk into the hotel and run into a colleague from Texas who promptly announces, “Vicky, I can only see you from the waist up!”

Apparently, camouflage pants are amusing nation-wide.  If you feel this is a tidbit of wit you’d like to utter, never fear.  I remain undeterred!  I expect to wear the pants frequently this fall.  If our paths cross, you’ll get your chance.

That is, if you can see me!

Entry filed under: Andy B, Bill M, camouflage, Jeremy Turner, Kansas, Sean, Travel. Tags: .

links for 2007-09-11 Gene Ray and Time Cube EXPOSED!!!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HokieTT  |  September 12, 2007 at 7:18 am

    I propose the notion that you only posted this so you could put a pseudo-risque pic of yourself on the internet.

    Reply
  • 2. Carolyn  |  September 12, 2007 at 8:32 am

    I think repeat jokes happen a lot with names too. Like someone meets a Dorothy and makes a Toto or a “We’re not in Kansas anymore” joke and the Dorothy just rolls her eyes.

    Reply
  • 3. HokieTT  |  September 12, 2007 at 8:40 am

    @Carolyn:

    Yeah, that should be another thing to think about when picking a name for a kid, in addition to the old ‘does it rhyme with anything nasty or sexual that will get him/her made fun of at recess’. Of course, you are SOL if you pick a good name and then some fool with that name does something afterwards to attach a stigma to the name.

    Reply
  • 4. tgaw  |  September 12, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Re #1:
    Darn it, Carolyn. You led me astray. You should have advised me to crop below the belly button!🙂

    Re #2:
    Good point, if I tire of the jokes, all I have to do is change pants. Did you know Mom said she would have named me Dorothy if it had not been for a pet mouse she had with the same name?

    Reply
  • 5. Clint  |  September 12, 2007 at 9:56 am

    a mouse? really? haha

    When i was in highschool i hooked up with this college girl from Kansas, and made a joke about Toto. She responded that everyone outside of Kansas, 100% of the time, made that joke when hearing she was from Kansas.

    Reply
  • 6. HokieTT  |  September 12, 2007 at 10:00 am

    These days, the cool kids joke on Kansas’ board of education.

    Reply
  • 7. tgaw  |  September 12, 2007 at 10:03 am

    I’m in Kansas right now. I’ll ask some of my colleagues if they get Toto comments when they travel.

    Reply
  • 8. Carolyn  |  September 12, 2007 at 10:50 am

    Mom told me my name was almost Becky, but that they thought it was too close to Vicky.

    Then later, Dad told me my name was almost Monica. But turns out, that was a joke because Lipinski is pretty close to Lewinski.

    Reply
  • 9. HokieTT  |  September 12, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    By the way, I also got some camo pants

    Reply
  • 10. Carolyn  |  September 12, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Hahhahah Good one!

    Reply
  • 11. ChristinaG  |  September 12, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I’m so jealous of your flat stomach. I don’t think I’ll ever achieve one of those – especially now with all the icky lose skin left after pregnancy!

    Reply
  • 12. geekhiker  |  September 13, 2007 at 1:00 am

    I dunno, it says there’s a picture, but I don’t see anything in the picture but a wall. Those camo pants are amazing!

    Reply
  • 13. tgaw  |  September 13, 2007 at 7:09 am

    @geekhiker- Aha! You west-coasters may have gotten to see the lunar eclipse, but you miss out on other sightings! Some offline comments inspired me to recrop the photo.

    Reply
  • 14. Chriggy  |  September 13, 2007 at 10:52 am

    I liked the original picture better😛

    Reply
  • 15. geekhiker  |  September 13, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Darn, now I’m sorry I missed the original photo!😉

    Reply
  • 16. lbow24060  |  September 13, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    Hey yesterday this was a picture of your stomach. The only reason I came back was for a cheap thrill.

    Reply
  • 17. tgaw  |  September 13, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Nice. It is always nice when your boss is looking for pictures of your stomach. 🙂

    If I put the picture back up, do I get a raise?

    Reply
  • 18. gaugeyagee  |  September 13, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Sheesh, midriff is too extreme now?

    Reply
  • 19. HokieTT  |  September 14, 2007 at 7:43 am

    @gaurgeyagee:

    by itself, no.

    Reply
  • 20. Anne Sawyer  |  September 16, 2007 at 5:41 am

    I saw the original picture.

    Reply
  • 21. Outshined « TGAW  |  December 2, 2007 at 12:13 am

    […] and Eric called me and asked if I wanted to tag along with them.  Booyah!  I shed my cameo pants and my Virginia Tech hoodie and then I put on some contacts, makeup and a blue dress.  Our timing […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


