links for 2007-09-05

September 5, 2007 at 12:21 pm 9 comments

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

links for 2007-09-04 links for 2007-09-06

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clint  |  September 5, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Sounds sucky! I like to put like.. 512M virtual memory on EVERY harddrive. If VM could be striped across every harddrive, I would expect some type of performance increase.

    Reply
  • 2. HokieTT  |  September 5, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    @Clint:

    I’m sure you hate Vista, but its ReadyBoost thing works with Flash drives to help VM performance. You can actually do the same thing in XP. It just doesn’t have a catchy name.

    Reply
  • 3. Clint  |  September 5, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I wouldn’t know about Vista. I’ve never seen it and have zero desire to experience it. I don’t even like XP, and I’m going to re-do this XP machine as 2K. As soon as its harddrive dies…

    And really, if you care so much about memory that you’re inserting flash drives to get faster VM – what you need more of is RAM, not Microsoft.🙂

    Reply
  • 4. HokieTT  |  September 5, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    There’s some pre-fetching benefit during boot as well. There are also some return from suspend / hibernation benefits. Of course, that’s only ever really worth it on a laptop anyway.

    What I can’t wait for is for solid state drives to be affordable.

    Reply
  • 5. Katie  |  September 6, 2007 at 6:10 am

    Totally unrelated to this post, but I thought of you when I saw this: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/06/fashion/06locks.html?_r=1&oref=slogin

    Reply
  • 6. Carolyn  |  September 6, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Wow, thanks Katie, I feel much better not donating my hair now. I knew my hair wouldn’t be a good candidate, but I didn’t realize there are so many reasons. My hair is gray, processed, and I can never seem to get it long enough without the ends getting all frayed and split. So, I will keep my hair and be satisfied at the turnout they are getting where they have to throw the majority of the hair they receive away.

    Vicky’s got good hair for locks for love, though.

    Reply
  • 7. TGAW  |  September 6, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Huh. That 80% stat is disappointing.

    “Too processed” is quite vague. The first item on the Locks of Love Donation FAQ (http://www.locksoflove.org/donate.html) said that “Hair that is colored or permed is acceptable” so I’m supposedly good there. They had an item that said, “Hair that has been bleached (usually this refers to highlighted hair) is not usable.”– which means I’m still good.

    That last quote from the Locks of Love office person in Florida, “A check would be easier for me” is a bit of a turn-off.

    Perhaps I should investigate some of those lesser known charities.

    P.S. What idiot would think that a dreadlocks donation was going to work?

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  September 6, 2007 at 10:08 am

    @#4: I’ve never found boot speeding up to be a worthy cause. You spend an hour making it boot 1 minute faster. You don’t get your time back until 60 reboots later, and that’s kind of an idealized example.

    Though, It is indeed annoying when a power-cycle takes 10 minutes (cough Carolyn’s computer cough), but that’s why I have multiple computers.

    Reply
  • 9. HokieTT  |  September 6, 2007 at 10:30 am

    Yeah, I hardly ever reboot anyway. (Well, for a Windows user, that is.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


