Amy Winehouse Links

August 31, 2007 at 8:14 am 16 comments

I decided to do these links manually as I have too much commentary for del.icio.us to handle. Earlier this week, Mike E told me about a flowchart called “Are you Amy Winehouse?”


Are you Amy Winehouse?

I’ve had mixed results exposing others to Amy Winehouse. She never really caught on with Mike E and Mark Duncan , but Larry bought the Back to Black CD and we spent the majority of our Montana trip listening to her. On the Larry front, an Amy Winehouse phrase is in our every day language. It’s part of our corporate culture, proving to be just a tad more resilient than Pep-see Ya.

What kind of fuckery is this?!?

Amy uses a variation of the phrase in “Me and Mr. Jones” three seperate times in regards to a relationship. Larry and I use it when discussing daily duties:

Vicky: I think we are going to need to go ahead and purchase the reporting component.
Larry: What kind of fuckery is this?!?!

or

Larry: The meeting is going to be at 8:30 AM [Author’s note: I don’t like waking up early when a lunar eclipse or a hike or Chuck E. Cheese is not involved].
Vicky: What kind of fuckery is this?

My brother easily adopted to me and Larry’s catch phrase. On the way to Assateague, Jay and I got stuck in Beltway traffic and I received a phone call.

Vicky (answering): Hello? Oh, Hi Larry!
Jay: What kind of fuckery is this?!?! Heh Heh Heh

I think one of the items about Amy Winehouse that has made me think the most is her drinking. My very first link added to my del.icio.us account (well before the WordPress synchronization) was a Washington Post article on Winehouse call 100-Proof Voice. What stuck out the most to me was a quote from ?uestlove:

“I caught myself saying, ‘I’m going to rue the day when Amy gets it together,’ ” says Ahmir “?uestlove” Thompson, whose hip-hop band, the Roots, has performed with Winehouse in Europe.

“Once I heard [her music], part of me felt like: ‘Don’t rock the boat. Let this take its course ’cause that way you’ll get great music.’ And part of me wanted to reach out to her.

This struck home to me. There are those whose drinking I look down upon, those who I do not hesitate to judge harshly. And then are those who have established problems that I overlook and don’t even give a second thought to. Why the discrepancy? Why is it not an even playing field in the arena of who Vicky condemns? I think it is a bit of the Amy Winehouse Syndrome. Here’s the key– If you can tell great stories and make me laugh in the wee hours of the night, suddenly your drinking is no longer a factor. I let it take its course cause that way, I get to hear great stories.

It’s easy to overlook alcoholism when there is such great art. What kind of fuckery is *that*?

In Amy Winehouse’s case, I’m not quite sure, “great art” is always the most accurate phrase. On the contrary, her live performances have some displays that are decidedly ungreat.


Charlotte Church and Amy Winehouse perform “Beat It”


This one gets pretty horrid after about two minutes. I like how the background singers forge ahead.

Perhaps that is why her relatives can now surface with plans to help. Though I’m not sure boycott is the going to be the most effective route.

Entry filed under: alcohol, Amy Winehouse, Jay, Larry Bowman. Tags: .

links for 2007-08-30 links for 2007-09-01

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tgaw  |  August 31, 2007 at 8:32 am

    Oh, one more link– if you would like to see what she is capable of when she’s not wasted, try this video. It’s “Back to Black”— my favorite song from the CD.

    The word fuckery does not make an appearence, but there are some lines I favor in this song:

    “He left no time for regret, kept his dick wet, with his same old safe bet.”

    I had been listening to this song for weeks and never noticed the “kept his dick wet” part until Larry got the CD and I read the lyrics.

    “I love you much. It’s not enough that you love blow and I love puff.”

    It’s important to have things in common in a relationship… but I guess sometimes even that doesn’t cut it. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. HokieTT  |  August 31, 2007 at 8:58 am

    I think it’d be beneficial to distill your thoughts about permitting self-destructive behavior in others. It sounds kosher to euphemize it as ‘enjoying the fruits of their addiction’, but if you boil it down, what you’re saying is that your own material gratification is more important to you than the well-being of others. That isn’t a condemnation, since the onus lies on the addicted to help themselves. But it is what it is. We’re all hedonistic to some extent.

    Reply
  • 3. The paradox of sacrifice « Sean 4.0  |  August 31, 2007 at 9:45 am

    […] The paradox of sacrifice Posted by HokieTT under TGAW , Hedonism , Sacrifice , Paradox  TGAW’s blog post today about Amy Winehouse’s substance abuse and self-destructive behavior got me thinking […]

    Reply
  • 4. Clint  |  August 31, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    I was happy not knowing who she was.

    Reply
  • 5. HokieTT  |  August 31, 2007 at 1:15 pm

    @Clint:

    She’s actually a pretty good artist IMO. I give her latest album 3 cheeseburgers.

    Reply
  • 6. Clint  |  August 31, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    (incredulous snortle)

    Reply
  • 7. Clint  |  October 5, 2007 at 11:18 am

    my co-worker just mentioned her. 2nd time i’ve heard of her🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Clint  |  October 5, 2007 at 11:18 am

    Reply
  • 9. Chriggy  |  October 5, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Before after what? If the right is after, I’s say she looks a lot better after. Actually, is this even the same girl? Tatoos don’t seem to match up.

    Reply
  • 10. Clint  |  October 5, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    The right is before. I don’t agree with them putting the after picture first (it should be in chrono order), but the tattoos are the after, since she didn’t have the tattoos before her drug use (Described in flow chart above).

    Reply
  • 11. Carolyn  |  October 5, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    she looks a lot sicklier after (if the right is before. I agree that they should have been before then after.

    Reply
  • 12. Chriggy  |  October 5, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    The main reason I wonder if its the same person is the tatoo on her right forearm. It’s there in the before. It’s not there in the after. Was this one a fake tatoo? Was it removed while additional tatoos were put on? Arm position is roughly the same, so not an issue of camera angle. Someone please clue me in.

    Reply
  • 13. Clint  |  October 5, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    I dunno, i found it on google images because my coworker said to look for it

    Reply
  • 14. Joanne  |  May 11, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Amy has the most poweful voice of all time! People should stop criticizing her and give her kudos for sharing her amazing talent with us! Theres an Amy fansite with all latest stuff on her all fans must check: http://amywinehouse.nu
    Keep supporting Amy!

    Reply
  • 15. stevie nix  |  June 22, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    What kind of fuckery is dis? Piss off , you cooooow!

    Reply
  • 16. Vicky  |  July 7, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Heh. And here is a GraphJam chart inspired by Winehouse’s song “Rehab”:

    http://graphjam.com/2008/07/05/song-chart-memes-winos-response-to-rehab/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Cork Kitty - White - Side

Cork Kitty - White - Front

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange.

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Orange - Side

Cork Kitty - Tiger Striped Grey - Front

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


