Early to Rise, Early to Rise

August 28, 2007 at 6:42 am 6 comments

I’m an early bird and a night owl , so I’m wise… and I have worms.- Michael Scott from The Office (U.S.)

In the last week, I’ve had horrible luck when it comes to getting up early. It seems everytime I’ve set my cellphone alarm early, something spites my efforts.

Spited By Scheduling
Last Wednesday morning, some overnight upgrades were occuring on one of our servers that hosts three key web applications. On paper, everything indicated the updates would be fine, but I took extra initiative to get up at 4:30 AM to perform testing on all three sites. I diligently confirmed third party components, email relaying and file permissions were all in order before heading back to bed. The next morning, I emailed to the server contact to report all was well on our end and I congratulated him for a smooth update.

“Thanks for the compl[i]ment,” my contact wrote back, “but I am afraid it is unwarranted.”

Turns out they had some unrelated events surface and had to reschedule the updates. D’oh.

Spited by the Sky
This morning there was a lunar eclipse! Figuring the workings of the universe are slightly more reliable than server maintenance, I set my alarm. Christopher Columbus once exploited the predictability of a lunar eclipse to weasle food from Jamaican natives. Even ancient civilizations found reliability in celestial events. Pretty safe bet for Vicky then, eh?

My alarm went off, I stumbled onto my deck and I could just barely see something that resembled an obscured, pink moon. It just wasn’t the earth’s shadow that hindered my view. The sky, particularly near the horizons, was overcast. I went downstairs, sent a few select IMs to Mike E (who was also up for the same purpose) and took the dogs out for a walk. By that time, the entire moon was gone. If I were to curse something, it would have to be the morning mountain fog that I usually cherish.

The dogs and I still had a good walk and since we are both up and lacking a lunar eclipse, I get to meet Mike for coffee at the Easy Chair. This day will still manage to start on a good note afterall.

For the coming week, though, I think I’m going to focus on a little more wise, and a little less worms.

Entry filed under: lunar eclipse, Mike E. Tags: .

links for 2007-08-27 Belly Dancing

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HokieTT  |  August 28, 2007 at 6:52 am

    So wait, does this mean you aren’t going to sleep all the time in the evenings and during the weekends?πŸ˜›

    Reply
  • 2. Clint  |  August 28, 2007 at 7:55 am

    I thought the lunar eclipse was only going to be viewable from the West coast…

    Reply
  • 3. tgaw  |  August 28, 2007 at 8:09 am

    If that is true, then this chart led me astray:

    http://www.thedailygreen.com/2007/08/27/lunar-eclipse-when-to-watch-in-us/5891

    Reply
  • 4. Chriggy  |  August 28, 2007 at 1:24 pm

    No, it was going to be visible from the east coast also. However, it was going to be just about sunrise. So while the moon is still visible in the sky, the sun just might start to obscure it. However, the next total lunar eclipse is scheduled for Feb 20, 2008. And it’s supposed to be visible form all of North America. For us folks on the east coast, it’s supposed to happen 10:26, EST. Let’s just hope its not cloudy that day. After that, the next total ecplipse wont be till Dec of 2010.😦

    Reply
  • 5. geekhiker  |  August 28, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Lucky us out west, we got a lovely lunar eclipse!

    I loved the upgrade story! Gave me a good chuckle. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  • 6. Sunday Science Round Up Stardate 2454345.5 « ideonexus  |  September 2, 2007 at 10:56 am

    […] Columbus used a lunar eclipse to scare Native Jamacains into giving him supplies (Hat tip to TGAW for the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

AirMuseumSanta-TakeII

AirMuseumSanta-TakeI

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan

Tree Lighting 2016 - Mayor Quist and Sagan - Cropped

Tree Lighting 2016 - Family Shot

More Photos

3D Printed Products

Tweets


